Not another gift list!

Some people celebrate this holiday where they’re thankful for the pilgrims after they conquered the Indians… or something like that.

While I do reserve a special thank you for the Pilgrims giving us pumpkin pie I try to be thankful for the little things year round.

So, as the year draws to a close, I wanted to give thanks for a few things that stood out this year, material and otherwise.

Thank you sweet baby jesus for California and my besties. At one of the most difficult times in my life we lived out my dream of driving down the California coast. From San Fran, through Big Sur, all the way to San Diego, it was everything I hoped for and more (OMG TAMALES). One of my best memories, after the 2010 Olympics (duh). I love you bubbies!!

THIGH HIGH SOCKS. After realizing I was meant to be a tamale-eating Californian my blood thinned itself as confirmation. Since California is not yet part of Canada I’m learning how to dress as someone who is FREEZING cold 99.7% of the time. I now understand why hats, gloves, mitts and long underwear exist. But for those days I don’t feel like wearing two pairs of skinny jeans (it is possible, and just as sexy & fun as it sounds), THIGH HIGH SOCKS. I bought them for extra warmth but jeyzus they’re sexier than matching bras and undies. Treat yo self!

The police sometimes get a bad rap but they’re topping my list this year. One in particular who stayed and sat with me in an ER waiting room until I was taken back (I was there in a support role, not for myself, but it was still difficult). She not only distracted me and related a similar experience, but left me her contact info and followed up with me a few times herself. Showing someone, even a stranger,  that you care is beyond underrated.

Health care professionals can get a bad rap too and not always undeservedly. But hopefully, like in life, we all experience good with the bad – I’m thankful for that this year. Two doctors stand out in particular for their caring and compassion, they probably saved my life as directly as if I’d been bleeding out on their operating table (Castle-style). Thank you for fighting for me and for somehow finding the right words.

Speaking of Castle, still saving my life when I need 42 minutes and 47 seconds to breathe.

Canada. You’re my favourite. Thanks for the free health care, it’s enough to make up for nothing being candy cane flavoured.

America, you can be a lot of things but you’re also the Bethlehem of candy cane flavoured EVERYTHING and I love you for it. There’s just one thing, could the M&M people please make a candy cane flavor, peppermint does not count.

Sriracha Candy Canes. You’re not one of the 12-steps for sriracha addicts, so I haven’t  tried you yet (also, my carryon luggage was full of candy cane schtuff), but I’m thankful to live in a part of the world that’s privileged enough to have stupid (amazing) shit like this. We’re not perfect, and we buy too much useless crap we probably can’t afford, but we’re very lucky to live where we are. If you’re reading this (and it’s not been transcribed into Braille being read around a campfire) you’re somewhere warm, with a device that’s got the internets, so by “we” I’m including you.

Hugs. Whether they’re a squeezey or a spoon train (my personal fave) I love anything involving a wee cuddle.

Everyone and anyone, near or far, who made me laugh this year.

Wishing you all love, happiness and good health. Mwah, mwah, mwah.

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not another gift list!

  1. Mel says:

    Rememember when I never commented on this the first time I read it? Or the second or third or fourth? This is the fifth, or maybe the sixth, and I still love it, so I thought I’d tell you.

    Candy cane everything FTW, and the white chocolate peppermint M&Ms really do a lot for me despite not having candy cane bits (though next year plz?), and I’m bringing my last bag to the Olympics (weekend).

    • Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

      Awww, that’s so sweet. I love you and I like you bubby!

      Can’t wait for an Olympic reunion :)

Leave a comment