All good things must come to an end–NYC Day 2

The original plan for my 8th day on the road was to get up semi-early and do brunch. I woke up at 6, bumped into mama D in the hall and was told to go back to sleep until at least 10. D, you’ve got the lovingly, stern, mom-voice down. A few more hours of sleep was just what I needed and I woke up raring to go.

Heellloooo New York!

IMG_0517

We loaded the girls in the stroller and went directly to The Museum of Modern Art, the only thing I told D I’d like to do while in the city.

IMG_0519

Our visit was extra special because it was the girls first gallery. My little partners in crime were just as fascinated as I was, they’d squeal if we pushed the stroller away from something before they were done. So cute!

Wandering around MOMA was fantastic. I enjoyed everything but my very favourite parts were the sculpture garden and the Monet’s.

The sculpture garden was so serene, such a contrast to the city just over the wall.

IMG_0520

IMG_0525

The Monet’s

IMG_0573

These were captivating. Until I saw them in person I couldn’t understand just how grand and large they were. WOW.

IMG_0575

IMG_0581

Just a few of the other fantastic pieces…

IMG_0587

IMG_0592

IMG_0568

IMG_0570

IMG_0561

We squeezed in a little shopping on 5th Ave and at the Anthropologie in Rockefeller Plaza (their friendliest location!) before lunching at Wichcraft.

IMG_0599

Last summer Jules and I passed a million Wichcraft’s and then couldn’t find one when we wanted to eat there so I was excited to try it out. And boy, was it worth the wait.

IMG_0603

I had the turkey sammie that comes with bacon, avocado, onion relish and aoli and it heated to perfection. This was easily one of the best sandwiches I’d ever had. The simple, high quality, ingredients created the most amazing flavor combination, it was like a little pillow of heaven. Of course the fantastic conversation with D and the twins silly hijinks made it that much better!

And then things got more delicious.

IMG_0607

Did you know they have Blue Bottle Coffee in NYC because I had no clue! I assumed they were exclusive to SanFran. Nope.

Not only was the staff amazingly friendly but they prepared me one of the top 3 latte’s I’ve ever had. I’m starting to drool just thinking about it. Oh lordy

.IMG_0606

The espresso was so rich and creamy and the crema, oh the crema. Sweet little baby jesus the crema was amazing.

IMG_0605

If you’re curious the foam was able to pass the authenticity test and supported a teaspoon of sugar I sprinkled on top. Have I mentioned the latte was fantastic? Because I’m currently in withdrawal, I tried to pack the store in my carry on but it didn’t quite fit…

My NYC adventures came to an end on that delicious note. Thank you for a fantastic time D, I’m so glad I got to meet your little ladies, they’re brilliant!

Until next time NYC!

xo

C

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All good things must come to an end–NYC Day 2

  1. Mel says:

    I’m still in Blue Bottle withdrawal and it’s been over a year since my last hit…it doesn’t get any easier, unfortunately, but thanks for the deeeelish photos, I can taste that latte again!

    Also, I feel like a bad Impressionist art fan, because I didn’t know about those giant Monets…

    • Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

      I had no idea just how big the Monet’s were, it was incredible!!

      Meet you at Blue Bottle at 10? I’m still drooling over that latte.

Leave a Reply

