WIAW

Howdy peeps! Who’s ready for a ‘what I ate Wednesday’ post!

Breakfast was my standard almond milk + amazing grass. Perfect way to power up for the day ahead.

Lunch was a piece of my veggie (vegan) lasagna creation from the freezer. How’s that for an ugly food photo? It tastes a million times better than it looks.

IMG_9741

Having this for lunch felt very gourmet and yet it was so simple to make!

Ingredients
2 zucchini sliced lengthwise into thin noodles
2 layers of lasagna noodles
Red Peppers (1 jar roasted or 1 raw pepper)
1 head of Broccoli
1 jar of Tomato Sauce
Vegan spinach dip ( combine: 1 pkg toffuti herb & garlic cream cheese, ½ package of frozen spinach (defrosted and drained), garlic powder, cayenne, ¼ cup parmesan)
Daiya cheese

Begin by spreading a thin layer of tomato sauce on the bottom of the pan, top with a layer of lasagna noodles. Top with broccoli and peppers followed by sauce and spoonfuls of (vegan) spinach dip. Layer on the zucchini “noodles” and add sauce and the remaining peppers and broccoli and spinach dip. Finally top with the rest of the lasagna noodles, tomato sauce, daiya and parmesan (optional). Bake at 400* for 30-35 minutes.

I couldn’t resist snacking on some Valentine’s candy throughout the day.
IMG_9729

Dinner was a simple salad of my favourites: cucumber, sweet cherry tomato’s, kalamata olives and 1/2 a cup of pumped up chickpea’s!
IMG_9769

To make the chickpea’s I used Angela’s (Oh She Glows) recipe for “Battered” fried chickpea’s modified with cayenne and extra garlic powder.
IMG_9759

I’ve yet to meet a chickpea I don’t like and these were a good way to add something different to my salad.

IMG_9764

Dessert was a delicious special treat, from Andrea, more on that at the end of the month. Stay tuned!

What’s the yummiest thing you ate today?

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WIAW

  1. Mel says:

    I know you’re super excited to know that the yummiest thing I ate today was mango butter!

  2. Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

    Aaaand I just mango faced, but yaaaay if you enjoyed it! I’ll just pretend it’s apple butter.

Leave a Reply

