To eat out or dine in?

This afternoon I had a serious craving for Fresh (quinoa onion rings, black bean burrito on lettuce) or The Beet Café (Trout and roasted garlic & sweet potato purée). Guinness fish & chips and crab cakes at Fish Bar also sounded mouthwatering but dinner was in the fridge at home. #firstworldproblems

The entire drive home I waffled between wanting to go out and eating one of my favourite salads, that was marinating in the fridge. To be honest, I really really wanted to go out but picked the gym instead. Random, I know.

I did ladder sprints on the elliptical for 35 minutes (350ish calories).

IMG_9432

To ease the boredom of working out on a machine I watched 2 episodes of Hot in Cleveland which is hilarious – I can’t wait for the new season to start.

IMG_9436

I finished off my workout with 20 minutes of free weights with a stability ball. I love lifting!

Dinner was the salad I mentioned. The original recipe calls for couscous which I substituted for quinoa for more protein, less carbs. The rest of the ingredients are dates, fresh mint, green onion and cucumber.

IMG_9401

The dressing is a combo of olive oil, white wine vinegar, chili powder, honey (agave) and salt and pepper.

IMG_9397

Combined together the salad has a unique tangy taste that’s both decadent and light.

IMG_9403

Vegan grilled cheese (daiya “cheese” and earth balance “butter”) and raw veggies rounded out dinner.

IMG_9438

Shockingly I had banana-strawberry softserve for dessert.

IMG_9445

I’m giving myself a goldstar for eating in tonight! I hope you had a happy hump day, the weekend is almost here!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

