Get older, don’t age.

Over the 8 weeks of Battle of the Blades there were appearances by 5 different shirts for Marie-France, hot pink knee socks and “lucky” bandana’s (for Monday night elimination shows). We had lot of fun cheering for MF.

108_4568Hoyt-2011-1114-0006IMG_6514IMG_6516IMG_6485IMG_6407

The show staffers thought the shirts were awesome (if also crazy) and looked forward to checking out what our shirts said each week.

IMG_6409

And the shirts certainly made us identifiable.

When we arrived for the Week 4 show there wasn’t a ticket envelope for us at the cast friends and family door. The staff figured the envelope got lost and gave us tickets to get in anyway. What we didn’t know was that our tickets were at the spouse door and one of the staffers was asking Marie-France what I looked like, so she could find me. Instead of saying anything to describe what I looked like MF simply replied “She’ll be wearing a shirt with my name on it… and a purple bracelet”. Needless to say the staffer found me quite quickly and we had a good laugh about it.

We also made MF and Bryan their own puff-painted shirts in week 2. We wanted to give MF a shirt of some kind and also take a team picture for their Facebook fan page. MF and Bryan were great sports and didn’t need any convincing to put on the “rock-stars” puff painted shirts, which I thought was awesome.

IMG_6411IMG_6412

Anyway, we wore those shirts proudly each week, puff-paint and all, to support our girl Marie-France and I was always appreciative that MF loved the craziness.

IMG_6413

On the last Sunday night I felt the need to thank Marie-France, again, for putting up with our “enthusiasm”. We ended up having an awesome conversation that branched off from there and culminated in “Get older. Don’t age”. True facts.

I’m very much in the ‘you’re only as old as you feel’ camp’ nd I think we have the ability to choose how we greet each day so I loved how simply MF summed up my philosophy on life. In fact, it’s that philosophy that inspired ‘Stars In The City’; which is all about finding the stars in the everyday.

When I was in my 2nd year of university I was excited to be living in my first apartment but I was dealing with having to quit skating and a demanding schedule at school when my mom was in a horrible car accident. To say there was a lot going on was an understatement.

Looking back I appreciate how being an optimistic person got me through that time. It wasn’t the happiest year of my life but I would have missed a lot if I couldn’t see the little stars within each day.

Shitty things are going to happen, fabulous things will happen. You’re going to get jealous and you might not get everything you think you want. But. If you appreciate the little things, take pride in being your best self, and love, you’re going to be amazing.

And if you need to, pretend you’re rocking a tutu (or a puff painted shirt) and just have some fun every day.

Be silly, be funny, be true to yourself, be open to being surprised, be open to learning from everything, be you.

IMG_9045

Most of all, “Get older, don’t age”.

IMG_6558

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Get older, don’t age.

  1. Jules says:

    This totally made me cry. I’m not sure if MF will ever know how much that convo meant to the three of us, but she doesn’t need to. We’ll boomerang it back to her one of these days.

    Love you boo. Thanks for being MY family too! <3

    • Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

      Aww Boo! I totally agree. I’m glad we’re all connected and understand without having to say anything. We’re lucky.

  2. Mel says:

    So I made the mistake of reading this on my phone while walking home from work…which led to a lot of strangers seeing me bawl…which led to the wine corner at the grocery store…haha. Thanks so much for putting this together & summing up the highlights of the weekend and reminding me why, even though it’s exhausting, being an optimist is the best option. And thanks for being someone who can laugh with me about pulling doll accessories out of my purse and George Foreman grills in the backseat of my car! <3

    • Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

      Beebs, I debating even posting this very edited down version so, while I never want to make you cry, I’m glad you got some wine and I’m thankful that you “get it”.

      I’m glad we can laugh about things like the doll accessories and 15 hour ferry rides with prison bunk beds (“Mama’s only crying cause she’s happy!”). If we can keep laughing we’re golden! Thanks for being part of the spoon train and for that Sunday night, it wouldn’t be the same or mean as much without you.

      xo C

  3. glidingcalm says:

    GAAA! i LOVE BATTLE OF THE BLADES!! thanks for all of the video links in some of your previous posts too! I’m going to go WATCH! :D

  4. Pingback: Two Thousand and Eleven | Food.Fitness.Fun.

Leave a Reply

