House Hunters

After raining most of Saturday we lucked out with gorgeous weather on Sunday.

IMG_5838IMG_5835

Lunch was at another favourite place, the Whole Foods Mothership. Seriously, the Lincoln Park store in Chicago is massive and awesome with a food court in their store in addition to a massive hot/salad bar.

IMG_5841

I wasn’t craving a specific food counter so I went with a variety from the hot/salad bar.

IMG_5839

(seaweed salad, hard boiled egg, cabbage slaw, pot sticker, tofu, grilled pineapple, curry)

This was the perfect amount of food and definitely my cheapest WF’s bar trip, clocking in UNDER $10! I think that deserves a medal!

After lunch we window shopped and stumbled upon Peeled, a smoothie/juice bar.

IMG_5842

Their menu has so many great selections I had a tough time deciding what to order.

IMG_5843

Ultimately my love of cherries won out and I went with the Cherry Moon.

IMG_5844

It was awesome! You should definitely check out Peeled if you’re in Lincoln Park.

After more shopping we took the El into the ‘burbs.

IMG_5837

Destination: Oak Park to tour my new neighborhood Frank Lloyd Wright houses, including his home and studio. I love architecture and design, which is actually why I ended up in Marketing, you know, advertising as art etc. I love the simple beauty and designs created by lines, texture and pattern.

Oak Park is just gorgeous and felt like home.

IMG_5853

IMG_5858IMG_5859

We arrived at FLdub’s house during magic hour which is that time of day before sunset when the sun is no longer overhead and casts the most beautiful glow.

IMG_5870

IMG_5889

It was also the perfect time of day to relax on the front steps of the house and let you mind wander as the sunlight dances through the leaves of the trees (while you pose for a senior portrait).

IMG_5887IMG_5894

Dreamy.

The other houses in the neighborhood (FLW and otherwise) were also gorgeous. I wanted to buy each one I laid eyes on, particularly any house that featured a large porch.

IMG_5909

IMG_5916IMG_5919IMG_5923IMG_5921

All of the houses were gorgeous but I didn’t feel the same about the unity temple FL-dub designed.

IMG_5938

The detail at the top is pretty but the rest of it looks like a jail. What can I say, I love windows and light not cement walls. The other churches in the area were pretty great though!

IMG_5937

IMG_5929IMG_5932

Oak Park is a cute area to walk around in, lots of cute shops and a red phone booth to play with.

IMG_5949

With the sun going down on a gorgeous day we took the El back into the city for a late dinner.

IMG_5958

Back downtown we struck out at 4 restaurants, they were either closed or had humongous lines.IMG_5960

By the time we arrived at OYSY we just wanted food. Luckily there wasn’t a long wait and we love sushi, the 5th time turned out to be the charm.

OYSY is one of Mel’s go to places so I took her recommendation and ordered the white dragon roll in addition to my standard (fave) spicy salmon roll and seaweed salad.

100_4300

100_4299

Photos courtesy of Mel (my camera battery was mostly dead).

My cute little dragon tasted as delicious as he looked, everything was top notch, really.

It was our last night in Chicago so we had to have Pinkberry again. It’s the law!

100_4302

This swirl was 70% watermelon, 30% coconut topped with strawb, mochi and a crepe cookie. The fun thing about Pinkberry is they’ll do whatever you want as long as it fits in the cup, can’t beat that.

Pinkberry, I miss you, come to Toronto!!!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to House Hunters

  1. Mel says:

    I can’t believe I didn’t comment on this earlier, but I miss you and our amazing day and all of this delightful food, so I had to relive it all again!

  2. Pingback: Two Thousand and Eleven | Food.Fitness.Fun.

Leave a Reply

