Michigan, The Mitten, MI

There are a lot of things I like about Michigan.

I like that I’m an honourary Michigander.
I like Jules and she’s from Michigan.
I like to refer to Jules’ parents as my American parents.
I like to drive around the Michigan country roads.
I like Meijer.
I like Cherries and Michigan is home to the cherry capital.

I also like all of the lakefront towns from Traverse City to Saugatuck.

We conquered Traverse City many years ago on an epic road trip of the UP (Upper Peninsula) and then last year we discovered Saugatuck and the Saugatuck Dunes Beach on Lake Michigan. There is a more easily accessible beach in town but we prefer the peaceful hike through the state park to the shore.

IMG_5615

IMG_5617

We swam for an hour and then dried off on our towels before heading back to the car and into town for dinner.

IMG_5627

The waterside patio at Mermaid Grill was our destination, their smoked white fish dip our objective.

IMG_5628

The smokey dip was just as delectable as I remembered. Nom nom nom.

IMG_5629

Knowing I’d want to fill up on the dip I ordered a fruit topped spinach salad as my entrée.

IMG_5631

The veggies and fruit were just what I needed… minus the mango (gross), I picked that out and gave it to Jules.

IMG_5632

After dinner we wandered around the tree lined streets visiting the cute shops.

IMG_5635

IMG_5638

The independent shops in town have a lot of crafty, unique items but somehow we ended up buying identical Toms.

IMG_5640

I guess this purchase we officially poled vaulted us past the hipster line we were toeing and I’m okay with that. I love my long-awaited, ugly cute and super comfortable shoes. They’re a great souvenir of a fun weekend!

Until next year Saugatuck!

(did you miss part 1 of this visit to Michigan?)

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Michigan, The Mitten, MI

  1. Mel says:

    That list is pretty similar to my Michigan list! Holla! And I love these Saugatuckian photos, especially the foggy one heading towards the beach!

Leave a Reply

