Seattle – Day 2,Take 2

Wowza! It’s been a while, nice to be back here again! I know I left you hanging just two days into my trip to Seattle/Portland, and I’m sorry, thanks for sticking around and coming back for the rest. I wrote the copy of my trip blogs in April but unfortunately didn’t have time to add pictures and post. Lets not waste any more time and get back to the trip recap… (Forgot what I’m talking about? See part one and two  here).

Day two continued…

After a gorgeous morning of NATURE and delicious cupcakes we continued the Seattle NATURE experience with a trip to Kubota Gardens, yet another free thing to do in Seattle. Awesomesauce.

IMG_3774

The Haiku was free too!

IMG_3752

Since we were visiting at the end of March/begining of April the garden wasn’t in full bloom but it was still pretty and serene.

IMG_3783

Shortly after we arrived we got the full Seattle experience when the skies opened up.

Giant bells make good umbrella’s.

IMG_3757

IMG_3762IMG_3771

Other than the NATURE I loved how small Seattle felt, it’s a big city with a small foot print. Kubota Gardens are outside of Seattle but in no time at all we were back downtown, a few steps from Pike’s Place market, for dinner at Etta’s. After our fantastic experience at Serious Pie we didn’t think twice about visiting Etta’s, another Tom Douglas restaurant.

IMG_3799

After a fantastic oyster and lobster meal in P.E.I. last summer we could not turn down the fresh oysters on the half shell.

I selected a kusshi from Deep Bay, B.C. and a Penn Cove Select from Samish Bay, WA.

IMG_3801

Fresh oysters taste like biting into a glacier, so crisp and cool. So. Good.

Jules and I both ordered the Etta’s “Rub with Love” Salmon which featured grilled wild salmon, sauteed kale, cornbread pudding topped with chantrelle mushrooms.

IMG_3803

I’m not sure where to begin describing the food-gasm that was dinner.

The perfectly spiced and grilled salmon, the melt in your mouth mushrooms and smooth Kale. And the cornbread. Well, I don’t like cornbread but this cornbread pudding was nothing like the grainy, blandness I associate with regular cornbread. The cornbread pudding was like silky and sweet, Oh Em Gee.

IMG_3805

I could eat this meal everyday and never tire of the flavours.

Not wanting our fantastic dinner experience to end, J and I split dessert. It was obviously delicious.

IMG_3806

I will be returning to Etta’s the next time I find myself in Seattle.

IMG_3809

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

