Dreams Do Come True //Olympics 2010

A year ago today Jen and I landed in Vancouver and my lifelong Olympic dreams began to come true in a continuous series of amazing moments.

IMG_9050

 

The rest of our group wasn’t arriving until later so we had most of the day to explore.

The Olympic Flame

IMG_9094

IMG_9105

The Giant Hudson’s Bay Olympic Superstore.

IMG_9135

Moving among a see of Red and White patriotism anything related to the Olympics elicited squeal after squeal. I wanted to pinch myself, I couldn’t believe this was actually happening.

IMG_9139  IMG_9182 IMG_9083 

IMG_9158

IMG_9150

Within a few hours we had walked around the entire city more than once including bumping into Megan and Aaron in front of a giant picture of Jo.

IMG_9166

A couple of Korean fans recognized Megan and Aaron (former Olympic Ice Dancers) and happily took a group photo for us – with their cameras as well which was funny since I don’t regularly get “fan girled”.

With the rest of the girls finally in the city we cheered for the Canadian Hockey team over dinner and explored the city at night.

IMG_9197

IMG_9204

IMG_9218

IMG_9220

And then my patriotism and enthusiasm caught the attention of a Dutch guy who wanted me to dance and took my picture, he took my picture a lot. And then he took more pictures of me with him.

IMG_9241

When I sarcastically asked how he knew I was Canadian he began to pat me all over from my head down saying “I can tell you’re Canadian here, and here, and here”.

The excitement continued as we walked through downtown, lost in a sea of red and white, randomly singing ‘O Canada’ with a few hundred of our closest friends. The Olympics were turning into everything we had ever dreamed of and more.

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dreams Do Come True //Olympics 2010

  1. Jules says:

    HAHAHA! I forgot about the crazy Dutch Guy that felt you up! BEST PARTY EVER!!! <3

  2. Pingback: 5 days in February. | Food.Fitness.Fun.

Leave a Reply

