Time to say goodbye x3

On Sunday night Battle of the Blades (BOTB) returned for a second season.

IMG_4017

BOTB is a Canadian show that has former hockey players trade up to a pair of figure skates and team up with professional figure skaters. Each week teams skate a new program on Sunday and one team is voted off on Monday.

Last year the show caught on like wildfire and I was lucky enough to attend every taping (minus Thanksgiving) so I was very excited for season 2 to begin.

Sadly, even though the season just got underway we already had to say some tough goodbyes.

First we had to say goodbye to last seasons iconic venue, Maple Leaf Gardens, and then on Monday we had to say goodbye to Tuffy (Christine Hough-Sweeney) and her partner.

IMG_3862

Tuffy (yes, I named my bike after her) is one of Canada’s dearest and toughest pairs figure skaters. Leading the National skating scene in the early 90’s Tuffy and partner Doug Ladret are fondly remembered for their amazing show numbers and are some of the nicest people in skating

tuffy

(Jen, Tuffy and I after Sundays show)

Training down the road from me they were huge role models in my early skating career so I couldn’t have been more thrilled when Tuffy joined the cast of BOTB last year.

In season 1 she made it through 3/4 of the season, with partner Tie Domi, and unfortunately she was the first team voted out of season 2. I’m sad to see her go but I hope she’ll be back next season!

Wait!! I’m not done! There is one more good bye going on this week, this one is a little more personal.

Yesterday I resigned from my job. Yay! Ahhh! OMG!

I have been fortunate to work at a great company for the last 4+ years but yesterday I handed in my resignation and in a few weeks I will begin a more senior management position at a new company.

I am very excited! I’m ready for new challenges and different experiences but it’s also going to be tough saying good bye. Since the announcement was made at work today the goodbyes have begun and I finally can share the news with everyone else!

Hopefully now all the questions about my cryptic tweets have been answered :) Thanks for reading!

xo
C

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time to say goodbye x3

  1. Erica says:

    Congrats on the new position!

  2. Chele says:

    Congrats on the new position!!! You are going to be wonderful :)

    Random…but what settings did you use for BOTB? haha I am trying to fine tune the best I can between last week and this week.

    • Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

      Chele… I shoot at f3.5, ISO 800 and around 1/80 or 1/100 (right of center on my light meter so the skater isn’t washed out, you have to play with this depending on where you are in relation to the spotlights etc.).

  3. Jules says:

    Aww, Tuffy! :(

    Aww, new job! I’m still so excited for you! Whee!

  4. Kirsten says:

    Congratulations on the new job! Sounds like an exciting opportunity!

Leave a Reply

