Music Makes Me Happy

So does writing and reading.

I’ve been a writing fiend this week but I took last night off and did nothing but read and take a bath. I ended up reading a book cover to cover and it was the best thing I could have done for myself.

Another thing I did for myself was make pumped up Zucchini Fritters.

IMG_2914

Similar to potato latkes, I usually make them with just zucchini but last night I shook things up a little bit and added potato. Shocking I know but sometimes I have to remind myself that carbs are not the devil, especially white ones 2 days before a dress fitting.

Pumped up zucchini fritters

  • 2 green zuchinni’s
  • 1 yellow zucchini/squash
  • 2 medium white potatos
  • 1 med-large sweet potato
  • 1/2 cup white onion (must be white!)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup WW flour
  • 1 TSP salt
  • Salt, Pepper, Cayenne, Garlic Powder to taste

Grate the zucchini and potato and then put into a strainer with a TSP of salt pushing down occasionally to drain out excess liquids.

IMG_2904

After 10-15 minutes begin taking handfuls out of the strainer, squeezing out more excess liquid out as you go.

In a large bowl add the rest of the ingredients to the zucchini and potato and mix well.

Once everything is combined heat a pan with 2 TBSPs of olive oil and spoon the mix into the pan, like you would with pancakes. Cook for 3 – 5 minutes on each side until they’re golden and crispy. Lay on a paper towel to drain excess oil and immediately inhale a few.

IMG_2907

They taste best when they are fresh off the pan and super crispy!

IMG_2908

I’m obsessed with these things.

IMG_2909

IMG_2925

I think I like these better than the latkes from my favourite deli (and I love those latkes), they’re definitely much more nutritious! Try ‘em tonight, just in time for Rosh Hashanah!

Happy Rosh Hashanah to anyone celebrating!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music Makes Me Happy

  1. Chele says:

    These look/sound great!!! Although anything with potatoes in them are sure to be a winner ;) LOL

    What did you end up reading cover to cover last night?

  2. Pingback: Zucchini Chickpea Burgers | Food.Fitness.Fun

Leave a Reply

