Long weekend, long recap.

Did everyone have a good long weekend? Mine was a bit of a whirlwind!

Thursday night I was pulling clean clothes from one suitcase to another while I baked muffins for my grandma and the fam.

My grandma and aunt love blueberry muffins so I made up a recipe featuring the most delicious Canadian blubes ever ever. I think I ate 1/2 a pint while baking.

IMG_2966 IMG_2967

Cinnamon Crunch Blueberry Muffins

3 cups WW flour
1 cup sugar/sweetener or 2/3 cup agave
2 TSP baking powder
2/3 cup apple sauce
2 eggs
2 cups of berries
1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk)
1 TBSP Vanilla
1 TBSP Cinnamon

Sift and mix the flour, sugar and baking powder.

Add the applesauce, milk, vanilla and eggs and combine. Add the blueberries once everything is combined.

Spoon into lined muffin tins and top with Cinnamon Crunch topping.

Cinnamon Crunch Topping

3/4 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 TBSP cinnamon
4 TBSP oil

Combine all ingredients and spoon over top of uncooked muffins.

Bake for 15-20 minutes in a 400* oven. Makes 24 muffins.

IMG_2977

It was 9:30 when these came out of the oven and I wasted no time sampling two as my dinner.

IMG_2979 IMG_2982

IMG_2988

IMG_2991

IMG_2995

IMG_2996

Berry berry good!

The rest of the weekend was a bit of a blur between playing 3 provincial softball games and travelling to Ottawa and Montreal.

I made it to Ottawa in time for tea with an old friend!

IMG_2861

Picked my aunt up from Ottawa U and had dinner at Red Lobster.

IMG_2862 IMG_2866

The leaves are already changing colour in Ottawa! Oh the horror!!IMG_2864

It’s hard to find anything not soaked in butter at Red Lobster so I was impressed to discover a new dish, Tilapia & Shrimp in a spicy soy broth.

Salads first!

IMG_2867 IMG_2870 IMG_2871

I ate the shrimp and veggies (minus the tomatoes) plus 3/4 of the fish and a few bites of rice.

I also totes indulged in a cheddar biscuit. So bad yet so good.

IMG_2868

Afterwards we caravanned to Montreal and I had someone super special along for the ride, my original road trip partner, my grandma! We used to road trip between Toronto and Ottawa together all the time when I was little!

IMG_2875

On the way to Quebec we rocked some tunes, chatted about when I was little and reminisced about her amazing cooking/baking skills. I also made her car dance and she made me stop for ice cream sundaes (I didn’t have any). My grandma and I are pretty close so I’m glad we got to spend some one-on-one time together.

In Montreal we were greeted with one of my favorite foods, le pizza!

IMG_2876 IMG_2877

See that little nub in the middle? Apparently that’s what traditional Greek pizza places do. No one could tell me why. I didn’t waste to long wondering, there was pizza to eat!

I had a slice of each and it was delicious!

Brekkie the next morning.

IMG_2879

This was much bigger than my usual breakfast but that day was my Uncle Georges 1 year memorial and we wouldn’t be eating again until mid-afternoon.

I ate breakfast surrounded by Halloween candy. I was insane.

IMG_2881 IMG_2882

Eventually I gave in and had a Reece’s PB cup before we left for church.

The fam turned the camera on me to capture my treat on camera. So here you go…

IMG_2883

and this is what I think of having so much chocolate around…

IMG_2884

After church it was time for the memorial lunch.

Salad bar – the feta, olives and shrimps were yummo. The rest was okay.

IMG_2889

Lunch – I ate 1/3 of the chicken, 1 potato piece and a few nibbles of the veggies and rice.

IMG_2890

Shockingly I found room for dessert! Some type of tiramisu cake, pretty good!

IMG_2891

I also had some coffee which is pretty unusual for me, it went something like this…

Aunt 1: “When did you start drinking coffee?”
Me: “When Aunt 2 started bringing baileys to the restaurant”

IMG_2892

Yes please!

Other treats from this weekend…

Home made Indonesian cheesy crackers. Melt in your mouth delicious!

IMG_2893

Homegrown tomato’s from my aunts neighbour. OMG SO GOOD! Hands down the best tomato’s I’ve had all summer!

IMG_2910

Fresh bread from the memorial.

IMG_2911

The perfect meal to end the long weekend.

IMG_2914

IMG_2916

Today is actually the one year anniversary of my uncle’s passing, we miss you Uncle George!

IMG_2905

IMG_2903

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Long weekend, long recap.

  1. christina says:

    i love anything with cinnamon and anything w/ blueberries so those muffins sound awesome!! those cheesy crackers look good too! i can’t believe halloween candy is out!!!

  2. The leaves are changing in B.C. too! I love it! Haha!

    You had a lot of good food this weekend, yummy!

  3. Jules says:

    I made those muffins tonight and they are sooo yummy! I had a lil’ problem with the paper wrapper coming off, but other than that I’m happy with the result. I had been craving blueberries for a few days so it’s funny that you posted this. Only not funny since you probably knew on some subconscious level that I’d been craving them. That’s just how we roll. ;)

    • Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

      Awesomeness! I’m excited that you made these :) It only makes sense that I knew you were craving something like this, being twins and all!

      I wonder why yours are sticking to the paper and mine didn’t? Hmm… maybe we should drink some juice boxes and discuss ;-p

  4. Jules says:

    I think the paper was sticking because when I tried my first one they hadn’t cooled enough yet. When I had some this morning, the paper came off with no trouble.

    But YES can we please get together for a good old fashioned juice break?

Leave a Reply

