I want what they’re having… Miami Day 3

The clouds rolled in the morning of our last full day in Miami but that wasn’t going to stop us. While my peeps bought some souvenirs I went in search of coffee.

IMG_2836

If you’re keeping track this officially broke my 1x/week coffee rule but believe me it was necessary and well earned after 10+ hours of swimming and dancing the day before.

The coffee run was also worth it because I stumbled on a Farmer’s market!! You betcha there was a massive squeal when the tents came into view.

IMG_2640

Sorry for the lack of produce photos but my hands were really full. I was about to buy some guava and plums when I smelled the most divine scent coming from the strawberries. I quickly grabbed a carton and ran back to meet my friends for beach time.

IMG_2642

Clouds were rolling in quickly at this point but for once I didn’t mind because I had turned into a lobster the day before :( Gross.

IMG_2651

I’m really really careful with my face yet despite sunscreen and covering my face I ended up with a really bad burn. Thumbs down.

I couldn’t stay down about my lobster face for long, not when we were on a beach!

IMG_2644

IMG_2675

IMG_2686

I don’t think it’s possible to be more relaxed than we were that morning.

IMG_2649

After going for a swim I broke out the strawberries. They turned out to be some of the best we’ve ever had. 

IMG_2656

IMG_2658IMG_2659

IMG_2663

 

Just when we thought life couldn’t get sweeter something white and pink caught our eye.

We put up our flag to call our waiter over and asked for what “they” were having.

IMG_2677

It turns out “they” were having the Miami Vice. What’s that you ask? It’s a Strawberry Daq topped with Pina Colada.

Sign us up.

Soon enough we were sipping on our own MV’s.

IMG_2688

With one sip I knew I had to move into the Ritz SoBe and exist on Miami Vice’s for eternity.

IMG_2696 

Or maybe my new nickname could just be Miami Vice. Whatevski.

Miami Vice: $17 (yes, $17 dinero for 1 drink, oups!)
Gratuity: 17%
Sipping the best Miami Vice ever ever in a lounge chair on South Beach: Priceless

We attempted to go back to our room and change to go out but we were too relaxed to make it past the lower lounge of the hotel.

IMG_2698

Instead we curled up on lounge beds (photo below is from the day before) and ordered grape flavoured hookah. This stuff was tobacco free so it’s not bad for you.

IMG_2507 

IMG_2703

It was the first time HP and I had ever tried it. I don’t know that I would do it often but it was a fun experience and made us even more relaxed, if that’s possible!

IMG_2704

Eventually we summoned the motivation to move on. We made it as far as the cafe by the pool and decided to stop for a late lunch.

A bread basket was brought right over.

IMG_2722

I was all over the olive bread.

IMG_2727

IMG_2729

For lunch I wanted something lite and asked Robert if they could add veggies to their green salad. In true Ritz fashion he asked me to list what I wanted and they would make it for me. Hello. I LOVE THE RITZ.

I ended up with a delicious salad loaded with tomato, carrots, cucumber, mushrooms, toasted soy nuts, olives and red pepper.

IMG_2733

IMG_2738

Our server also recommended the citrus vinaigrette dressing from the dinner menu, instead of the lunch menu balsamic. He brought the dressing out with siracha, red pepper flakes, a random dipping sauce and tiny bottles of tobasco to satisfy our need for heat.

IMG_2730

The dressing was awesome, very lite and slightly tangy. Natch I mixed in some siracha

IMG_2746

The salad hit the spot!

IMG_2747

So did a few of the fries we ordered for the table.

IMG_2740

Eating all of our meals late (lunch was at 4pm) gave the trip a European feel and in true Euro fashion we retired to our room for a post-lunch nap…

Our last night is Miami is coming up next!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I want what they’re having… Miami Day 3

  1. Chele says:

    Miami Vices are like the Lava Flow I had in Rhode Island when we went out for dinner. SO GOOD!!!

Leave a Reply

