Thank you exercise endorphins!

After my sleepy day at work yesterday I went home with an agenda to accomplish before I crashed into my comfy bed. Agenda = yummy food + workout.

On the food side of things there was one meal on my mind. Pizza!

I pulled out a La Tortilla Factory 100 call pita from the freezer and threw it into the oven. While the oven was pre-heating I started some shrimp in a pan and prepared the rest of my ingredients.

More green.

IMG_2647

Somehow all my food this week was green. I need to make sure I pick up some more colourful food next week.

IMG_2648

I used my food processor to grate my last bit of Rice cheese extra fine. Fancy shredding cheese makes a little bit go a long way.

IMG_2654

The little “balls” are the end of the cheese that was too tiny to get grated.

I’m not a big tomato sauce fan so I used a tablespoon of seasoning from the shrimp pan as a base.

IMG_2651

I like to sprinkle a little cheese on before I add the toppings, it helps keep them in place.

IMG_2655

IMG_2656 

IMG_2658

IMG_2659

Finish things off with a little more cheese and pop ‘er into the oven. (If you’re curious, I used 1.5oz of the cheese I grated for the pizza)

IMG_2660

I could hardly wait the 12 minutes for this to cook.

IMG_2661

IMG_2662

I’m impressed that this even made it to a plate.

IMG_2663

IMG_2667

IMG_2669

While dinner digested I read my book in the evening sunshine for about an hour and then headed to the gym. I’ve been restricted to running 1x/week because of my hairline fracture but I wanted to see if I was ready to add a 2nd run and thought it was best to do it on a cushy treadmill.

If I was going to be stuck on the dreadmill I wanted to take advantage and work on increasing my speed throughout the run. I started running at 6.2 and increased to 6.8 by the end, with walk breaks every 2.5-3 minutes.

According to the Nike+ I ran 3.01km in 22:46, a 7’33”/km pace. I expected my pace to be a little faster because of the quick (for me) run pace but I think I was walking slower on the treadmill that I do outside. No big deal (NBD!).

As for the ankle? Yeah. It’s not ready for two runs yet, at least not when I’m still playing baseball (and doing sprints during conditioning). Boo.

Following the run I planned to do free weights on a stability ball but some trainers had taken over the aerobics room and all of the 5, 7 and 10 lb weights. Ugh, so irritating. Since I didn’t want to workout with 2.5 or 20+lbs weights I went upstairs to my 5lbs hand weights and threw on Jillian Michaels No Trouble Zones DVD. My goal was to do at least 1/2 the video but I was feeling good so I finished the whole thing! I did modify a few of the lunges to accommodate my ankle.

Despite being exhausted yesterday I felt so much better after a simple dinner + workout. Thank goodness because otherwise the truck fire that doubled my commute time this morning would have been an irritable 65 minutes. Instead I just chilled with the tunes pumping and the sunroof open, thank you exercise endorphins!

2 hours until my weekend begins, I can’t wait! Have a great weekend everyone!

Countdown: 1 week until Miami!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank you exercise endorphins!

  1. Kirsten says:

    That looks like a very delicious homemade pizza~

  2. christina says:

    that looks delicious!! i’m surprised you waited to eat it while taking pics!! :)

Leave a Reply

