You say Frittata… I say…

YUMM.

Last night I needed a quick dinner before I rushed off to a baseball game. I had planned a quickie veg omelet but decided to pull a few extra ingredients from the fridge and make my eggs seem more decadent.

Olives were required. Duh. I must maintain my olive monster status.

IMG_2769

Leftover steamed broc was also on the chopping block.

IMG_2773

While I was cutting the above into bite sized pieces some red onion, shrooms and green pepper were hanging out in a saute pan. mmmm.

IMG_2772

Throw everything into a glass pie baking pan thingy and mix it up.

IMG_2771

In a separate bowl I beat 4 eggs lightly and poured it over the green stuff with a wee bit of Almond Milk.

Since feta makes it betta I crumbled a tiny piece over top (that’s a dessert fork). Mmmmm feta!

IMG_2775

All of the ingredients reminded me of super yum pizza toppings so natch I seasoned it up with pizza seasonings. Ergo dried oregano, dried basil, garlic powder, onion powder and dried thyme.

IMG_2776

I was short on time so I started this in the microwave for 3 minutes and then popped it into the oven for 20 minutes at 350* + 3 minutes of broiling time to finish the top. And then this happened.

IMG_2786

IMG_2779 IMG_2778

Something happened with the spices in the oven that made my condo smell like pizza. It was good times!

IMG_2788

Allo Olivey-Goodness!

IMG_2790

I paired it with some couscous carby goodness

 IMG_2796

I love when something quick ‘n dirty, made up of random fridge ingredients, turns into something that tastes like it took a lot of time to make. I didn’t want this meal to end.

If you were so inclined you could use quinoa or polenta as a “crust”!

The best meals make the best leftovers… I can’t wait for lunch! I hope you have a great one too :)

IMG_2801

PS – We won our game last night but I have a big game tonight with my other team, The A Team. Wish us luck!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You say Frittata… I say…

  1. Faith says:

    Mmm, olives make everything better! I think I’m going to use this as inspiration for a tofu scramble tonight with all the delish pizza-esque spices!

  2. Krissy says:

    Yum! I’m totally on an olive kick right now – they seriously make everything taste better! Especially the ones that come from my Greek Mother-in-Law :)

  3. christina says:

    that looks so darn good! i would LOVE having that for leftovers.

Leave a Reply

