The Race Itch

Yesterday, after studying Hal Hidgon’s Novice 10km training plan, I started looking at fall races but resisted registering for anything… yet! So far I haven’t found any races that work out with wedding commitments (I’m Maid of Honour in an October wedding) but I’ll be keeping an eye out!

Obviously, after looking at races, I went for my own run. I set out to do 3km and ended up completing 3.33km in 23:03 with a 6’55″/km pace. That’s a faster pace than usual, yay!

I didn’t want to come inside after my run, it’s so nice out! I’m definitely not going to handle when the weather gets colder… don’t hate me but I actually wish it was hotter! It’s a good thing I’m going to Florida in 9 days; I can’t wait to SWEAT.

I planned to do Pilates when I got home but, after talking with one of my BFFs for a while, my tummy was rumbling and food > pilates. Dinner was simple, leftover Sunday Pasta with extra broccoli, but I multi-tasked and put together some bean burgers for lunches at the same time.

Chickpea burgers are my favorite but I’m trying to eat my pantry down so I made do with some kidney beans.

ETA: That makes these Kidney Burgers, lol. Thanks to Christina from hungrymeetshealthy.com for pointing that out.

IMG_2706

Joining the party was onions, green peppers, WW flour (1/4 c), freshly ground flax seeds (2 heaping TBSP), cayenne, paprika, garlic powder, black pepper, pepper flakes and nutritional yeast (2TBSP).

To maximize the benefit of flax seeds they should be stored in the fridge and ground before you use them. (your body can’t digest whole flax seeds).

IMG_2708

At the last minute I added some pepita seeds….

IMG_2710

…and the secret ingredient, a few dashes of Chili sauce. Yes please!

IMG_2711

Throw it all in the food processor and mix away.

IMG_2716

You can easily cook these on an indoor grill or frying pan but I opted for the oven so I could “set it and forget it” while I hopped in the shower.

IMG_2723

35 minutes later I had a great salad topper for my lunch today! I’ll probably eat a couple this week and then freeze the rest for nights I’m in a rush.

IMG_2733

The best part about bean burgers is that you can change up the ingredients each time. Next time I want to add some greens, maybe spinach with feta or sun dried tomato? The possibilities are endless!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Race Itch

  1. christina says:

    yumm! can we call these kidney burgers? haha that makes me laugh

Leave a Reply

