How I started running.

Many of you reading this are already amazing runners but for those of you are thinking about starting to run I wanted to share how I did it.

After a few failed attempts at running, aka hopping on the treadmill and seeing how long I’d last (usually not more than 3 minutes), I decided I could learn to run if I approached it properly and started the Couch to 5k (C25k) program in the summer of 2009.

Funnily enough my first ever blog post was about my first run and my second post was about doing my own indoor triathlon workout. /side note

C25k is a beginners running program aimed at preparing you to run 5km. You begin with walk/jog intervals and slowly work your way up to running the whole time. See the training chart here.

I began running on the treadmill and downloaded music each week that signaled when I should change from walking to jogging. It wasn’t easy but I began to understand why people loved running. I also loved that with each run I was getting closer to realizing my triathlon dreams.

After a hiatus in August, for a trip to Greece, I continued the program into the fall -occasionally repeating a week before maxing out at week 6. The program had served me well but I simply couldn’t make the leap to running for 25 minutes straight in week 7. Instead of giving up I created my own run/walk program after hearing about Hal Higdon.

In the winter of 2010 I struggled with a hip/groin overuse injury and running went on the back burner. I ran exactly 3 times over the winter, New Years Day, and twice in March (one of those runs being my 5k race, thanks to the wonders of cross-training). In the spring, with my injury healed, I was excited to get back to running.

Right now I’m down to running 1x/week, as I let a hairline fracture (from baseball) heal, but I’m continuing to run/walk, working on decreasing the walk portions each time.

I’ve had a few frustrating runs but improvement only comes with practice and on July 27th I finally had a great run, also my fastest recorded 5km. I didn’t have a chance to blog about it then (sorry!) but I ran 5km in 37:05 (yes, I’m a turtle, it’s ok). I’ve run 5km faster on the treadmill but since that was before my Nike+ (and indoors) I’m pretty proud of my turtle-ish, somewhat hilly, personal best.

5km run

So that, in a nutshell, is how I started running. What’s next?

This year has been so much fun, I ran my first 5km race, biked a 50km fundraiser in the rain and completed a try-a-tri. Next on my race list are a longer distance triathlon and a 10km race. These likely won’t happen until next year but my leg is healing well and my schedule will be getting lighter soon (one of my three baseball teams wraps up soon) so I’m going to ease into increasing speed and distance.

What are you race/workout goals?

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How I started running.

  1. Great post! I think that so many people struggle with running because they go to fast. One of my friends actually said to me “I don’t know how you run so far, I ran a block the other day as fast as I could and almost died”.

    Ummm, I don’t run as fast as I can ever. Sprinting does not equal running. Lol.

    I kind of fell into running, I ended up signing up for a half-marathon and that’s how I really got into running was training for that. I’ve since fallen in love with it and I’m currently training for my first marathon in October. That’s really cool you did a Tri – that is one of my big goals for 2011 :)

    • Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

      You started running by signing up for a half mary?! Thats awesome!!! Congrats and good luck with the marathon, thats so great! If my knee can handle 10km I would love to work up to a half marathon.

  2. Emily says:

    I’m trying to start running again now, but it’s tough because nobody else in my family runs and I feel like I’m not a “natural runner,” whatever that means. I’ve had problems with shin splints in the past, so I’m trying not to push myself too hard. I run without a watch and just try to listen to my body. No programs, no races in the future, but that might change soon! There’s a marathon in my hometown I’m looking into.

  3. Susan says:

    I have been looking for inspiration for starting to run – b/c I really cannot see myself as a runner as much as I want to. I guess I’m just not taking it one step at a time – thank you for your post! :)

Leave a Reply

