Relaxed Weekend

This weekend was just what I needed, a little less scheduled and a lot more savoury.

Friday afternoon I met up with Patrick-o for a coffee date; but first we worked up a thirst with a summer bike ride. We started with a 10km trail “sprint” where we went all out.  The next 12km we simple soaked up the sun, chatted and conquered one crazy hill. Oy! After that I’d say we earned our iced bevvies and some relaxation on the patio.

After coffee neither of us was very hungry so I challenged P to another workout, Jillian Michaels “No More Trouble Zones” – my favourite JM DVD. I don’t think Patrick knew what he was getting into but we sweat our way to the end and felt FIERCE afterwards.  You know you’ve had a good workout when you’re so hot you have to use your shirt to mop up the sweat, we were glistening beauties I tell ya!

Naturally I said we needed a third activity to complete a “triathlon” workout. I was thinking swim but we compromised and went on an 8km walk just before dusk. Mission accomplished!

Saturday was marked in the calendar as a beach day. When I first moved to Toronto I used to spend most weekends at the beach, attracted by the water and my cycling buddies (Patrick and Mike) who lived there. I haven’t spent as much time there lately so I was happy to be back. I enjoyed a 65min/27km bike ride on the water followed by beach time with a good book and my toes in the sand before the rain clouds rolled in. It was just what I needed.

Today I had a good friend (and fellow bridesmaid) over for lunch. I know pasta is the way to this girls heart so it was a no brainer that I should make my signature Sunday Pasta.

This dish was created by my mom but I loved it so much I made it my own and cooked it most Sundays throughout high school. It has a bit of a cult following among family and friends.

Who can resist sizzling shrimpies and feta pasta (feta makes it betta!)?

IMG_2747 IMG_2749

IMG_2753

IMG_2758 IMG_2756

IMG_2751

I served the pasta with a Greek salad spin off and a homemade oil & vinegar dressing. I left the feta out of the salad, since there was ample in the pasta, and replaced the oregano in the dressing with chili powder. A nice light side for a pasta dish.

IMG_2741 IMG_2742

Add sweet berries and a sugar cookie for dessert and you’ve got lunch.

IMG_2743 IMG_2765

IMG_2759

After lunch I got in a quick pool workout:

  • 540 metres// 15 minutes
  • 4 laps each of high knees and butt kicks (adding resistance with my hands)

This weekend was pretty simple but it felt like a vacation! So You Think You Can Dance Canada is calling my name, off to give it my full attention. Is anyone else watching?

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Relaxed Weekend

  1. christina says:

    ahhh i’ve been craving a pasta dish like this! so jealous.

    • Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

      So I shouldn’t mention that there are lots of leftovers? I would most definitely share if we lived closer!

  2. Kim says:

    That pasta looks SO good! I love me some shrimp and broc! And yup, feta def makes it betta :D

Leave a Reply

