I did it and so can you!

8 years ago I had knee surgery and everything stopped; skating, baseball, basketball, skiing, dancing, etc.

4 years ago I started biking more seriously and got back into baseball.

3 years ago I got back into swimming and working out more.

2 years ago I got even more serious about conditioning and started biking longer and harder. I started looking into races that were only swim/bike and didn’t involve running.

Just over 1 year ago I got caught walking in a bad storm and had to run home. Surprisingly my knee held up, I got my first runners high, and started to believe this whole triathlon thing could actually happen.

1 year ago I started the C25K running program on a treadmill.

5 months ago I ran my first 5k race.

Yesterday I finished a (mini) Triathlon!!! I did it!!!!!!

I’m working on a detailed race recap but before I post it I have to say that the Triathlon was one of the best things I’ve ever done! I had SO MUCH FUN doing the race and I’m so excited I finished a triathlon (short distance or not), it was a blast!

I used to be a figure skater but gave it up when knee surgery revealed more extensive damage than expected. I went in expecting 6 months of rehabilitation and came out hearing I had to give up the sport I loved most, or risk a knee replacement. Not quite what you want to hear just after you turn 19.

It took a full year before I started feeling  like myself again and could even mention skating without feeling like my heart would explode. So you can imagine how awesome it was that participating in yesterdays Try-a-tri felt right, just like skating used to.

I was so pumped before the race, not nervous at all. Honestly! I can swim, bike and run, I had this. Did you see what I wrote, I CAN. Not ‘I’m slow’ or ‘I’m not that good’ or “I’m not fit (pretty/fast/thin) enough” but I sure as friggen heck can do this and so can you! Whatever you’ve been thinking of doing, give it a try.

If you’re worried about time or looking silly, don’t! If you saw my post about not liking my arms I’ll tell you that I raced in a tank top, I even swam in it so it was clinging to my body, and I didn’t give it a second thought. During the race my body image had nothing to do with looks, I felt awesome about my body because it was taking me through the race… and today I might actually like my arms guns just a smidge more. Time is also irrelevant, you’re already faster than if you were sitting on the couch, finishing is what counts!

I also have to let you know I had my a$$ kicked by an absolutely amazing athlete, he was a one legged amputee who was finishing his run just after I started mine. Good thing I wasn’t feeling bad about my able bodied self at that point huh?! People come in all shapes and sizes, some are faster than others but just be the best you can be and I guarantee it will be amazing!

Detailed recap to follow shortly!

Thank you so much to all my IRL and bloggie friends, your support was amazing and humbling. Your kind words raced with me. ♥ you!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I did it and so can you!

  1. Sarah says:

    <3 fantastic :) xo

  2. Mel says:

    Yay, I am so super proud of you!! I read this a few days ago, but kept thinking about it and came back for a re-read today. :) Your motivation is inspiring and I’m so excited that you finally got to do (& finish) a tri! I’m going to come back and read this post again as I hopefully get un-injured and start dancing again this fall.

    • Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

      Aww, thanks Melbo! Getting back to dancing sounds like a great plan! Of course, (not to trivialize your rad comment) but I hope there is a dance belt involved.

Leave a Reply

