Trying Hard

I’m doing something very exciting on Sunday!

Something I’ve wanted to do for years…

Something that involves this gear…

IMG_2276

plus my bike…

Have you figured it out yet?

If you guessed that I’m doing a triathalon, you win! Last summer I started running just to be able to do a triathalon (I’d already been biking for 3 years) and now the time is almost here and I’m so giddy! In fact, the race I’m doing was the one that inspired me to start running last summer.

I had my sights set on doing a Tri in my hometown in early June and trained hard through the winter in preparation. Unfortunately due to my aunts sudden death in the spring I wasn’t able to do that race and subsequently set my eyes on this race, the Grimsby Try-a-Tri, part of the Subaru Triathalon Series.

My family and friends IRL have been hearing about this Tri for a while but I delayed registering until this week, when I was again reminded that you don’t know what tomorrow will bring and you have to live for today. I promptly put my money where my mouth is and registered.

I’ll be doing this race in honour of my gramma, she’s amazing and one tough cookie. Even though she’s not feeling her best this week she was happy when I told her I was racing for her. We’re going to be tough together!

This is what I’m bringing.

IMG_2274

Coconut water/water to drink and extra water to rinse my feet with after the swim.

IMG_2277

Speedo bottoms and a Nike tech tank, with a built in bra I can actually run in.

IMG_2280

  • 2 towels
  • running shoes w/ socks stuffed in them
  • extra socks
  • Patella strap for the run
  • Asthma Inhaler
  • Swim goggles
  • Extra shirt
  • Nike shorts to run in
  • Bike helmet
  • Bike gloves
  • Sunscreen
  • Extra Safety Pins
  • Silver bag to lay everything out on

I’m also bringing some extra gear…

IMG_2288

Extra shirt, swim suit, swim cap, sports bra and my run skirt. I won’t lay this stuff out but I’ll keep it at the rack just in case. Not pictured are extra tubes and pump for my bike and a hat, which are already in the car.

The only thing I don’t have is my cheering squad. Patrick won’t be at the race, which bums me out because I mentally prepared that he would be there, but c’est la vie, I know he and my friends and fam are there in spirit!

Actually my friend V (and half the world) knows how bummed I am to be going alone and she really wanted to be there but can’t make it so she did the next best thing…

IMG_2262

When we went out the other night she had me take a photo of her pretending to meet me at the finish line with her arms open for me to run into. Ahh my friends are the greatest, thanks V!

I’ll see you after the race!

Wish me luck!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trying Hard

  1. Chele says:

    GOOD LUCK!!! Run, swim and bike your little heart out :) Can’t wait to hear all about how amazingly you do!!!! I am so unbelievably proud of you. You’re definitely an inspiration :)

  2. Kirsten says:

    Good luck! Can’t wait to hear all about it!!

  3. christina says:

    GOOD LUCK!! that’s awesome that you’re doing it. i’m proud of you!

Leave a Reply

