Workout Roundup!

After my hard run last week (that isn’t worth linking to, no really) I took a step back from my critical thoughts and had a good chat with my friend, who I affectionately refer to as my running guru. She is a marathoner who is incredibly motivating and always puts things into perspective for me. Basically she sat me down and validated a lot of things I was thinking and I felt a whole lot better. Our chat went a little something like this:

  • I haven’t been running consistently lately so this is just a starting point. I am not crap, I will improve, I can do this.
  • I was exhausted after coming back from vacation and jumping back into work and sports. It’s not an excuse but it’s true.
  • Ankle – It hurts. Fact. Accept it. Carry on. Just because my stress fracture isn’t keeping me from running doesn’t mean it doesn’t hurt and that’s valid. It’s okay that I’m not happy about it.
  • Food – Wait longer after dinner (duh!)
  • Running outside is different than running on a treadmill in the A/C
  • It’s hot, take water if you need it
  • Stretch
  • It’s about finishing not how long it takes.

This is what the rest of the week looked like after the run:

Friday – Bike ride (paths – 21km, 45 minutes)
Saturday – Great Urban Race
Sunday – Bike ride (paths – 24km, 50 minutes)
Monday – Baseball
Tuesday – Night Off – Walk (75 minutes)
Wednesday – RUN, Baseball

Before I even laced up my runners last night I was determined that I would not have a repeat of last weeks run, I think that’s half the battle right there! I also did a few things differently:

  • I gave my dinner enough time to digest
  • I brought my camelbak so I could have water
  • I stretched for 10 minutes before I left. I was so displeased with last weeks run that I didn’t stretch afterwards, combine that with biking and you’ve got a very tight hip muscle (my bad!).

The other thing I decided to do differently was to run on a trail instead of concrete to give my ankle and hip a slightly softer surface. The shade on the path didn’t hurt either!

I walked the 1.2km to the trail as a warm-up and realized halfway there that I had forgotten to take my inhaler. Crap! I am awful at remembering to take it, who wants to breath easily anyway, right? I didn’t have time to go back so I just kept going. Who cares about extra walk breaks to breath? I didn’t!

My goal was to do 4km and I ended up completing 4.37km in 35 minutes. The pace might not have been better (8’09”/km last night vs. 8’11”/km last week) but aside from trouble breathing it was a completely different run (well, jog/walk).

I had a lot of fun running on the trail and *gasp* even smiled while I was doing it. I was having such a good time that I wanted to push for 5km and kept running past the turnoff for home. I ran a little further but my hip got very tight and let me know it was time to go home, even so I felt really happy about the whole thing. My ankle was also pretty happy about running on the trail instead of the sidewalk and didn’t send shooting pain up my leg like last week, yay!

Keep calm and run on.

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

