Run run run

Hi Lovelies!

I’m back from my epic trip to the East Coast and it was FABULOUS! 3 countries, 4 provinces and 4 states later I have a lot of pictures to share and I can’t wait to recap all the great times.

While on vacation I managed to jog/walk a few times, the best one being the last run on a treadmill. I took a few walking breaks but I maintained a 6.0 average speed (I think that’s around a 9:30 min/mile?) which is good for me (I’m a turtle!).

I got home Sunday evening and jumped back in the swing of things (literally, pun intended) with a baseball game Monday night and two games + conditioning on Tuesday night. Some huge hits and fielding some difficult plays fairly well overruled any soreness/ankle pain. Everyone seemed really happy to have me back so that was extra nice!

Thanks to my crazy schedule, last night was the first night I could run. A few errands and a quick dinner later I headed out for 5 km.

With my under armour running shorts, tank and new lululemon run socks I was totes pumped and ready for a sweaty run. I was also wearing my indoor sneakers since I realized, on vacation, that the outdoor ones have seen better days. And yes, I have two pairs of the same sneakers, an old habit from my basketball days. I use one pair in the gym/ at home and the other for everything else but with my ankle I figured I could use all the cushioning I could get.

Things started out well enough with a 5 minute warm-up (walk) and then I began 2:2 run/walk segments at a 10 min/mile run pace – not too shabby for me on this hilly route. Things went swimmingly until just over 2km into the run when I hit the proverbial wall. My ankle hurt, dinner was sitting like a rock in my stomach and I felt like I was running in molasses. I kept trucking but my walk breaks were getting longer and my running slower.  I ended up finishing 5km in 40:27 (including that 5 minute warm-up).

I’m not sure what to say. Obviously I haven’t been running a lot so I wasn’t expecting a great time but I wasn’t expecting it to be so hard either. A month ago I completed a 7km run walk in 50 minutes (the longest I’ve ever gone) and it was much easier than last night. Granted I didn’t have a stress fracture in my ankle at the time but I’m still frustrated. In my head I know that any run is better than no run,  but I can’t help feeling like I was a stronger runner when I was just starting out last summer.

Anyway that’s where I’m at, there’s nowhere to go but up!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Run run run

  1. Kirsten says:

    Sounds like you had an awesome time on vacation.

    Running can be a really frustrating sport sometimes. I hope things get better soon!

Leave a Reply

