Life is a bowl of Cherries!

Life has been pretty sweet lately and it’s been made that much better thanks to these babies!

IMG_0341IMG_0343

IMG_0347  IMG_0353

I have been searching for frozen cherries but they are nowhere to be found so I made my own.

IMG_0361

Pitting the cherries was easier than I thought, I just sliced them in half and popped out the pit.

IMG_0362

I froze the first batch on a baking sheet before placing them in a ziploc baggie but  you could skip this step.

IMG_0366

The first thing I made with the magical frozen cherries was a chocolate cherry bomb!

IMG_0377

Chocolate Amazing Grass, Spinach, Almond Milk & Frozen Cherries. It was pretty delic but then I made the most amazing thing ever.

Cherry Banana Softserve

IMG_0389

This is so good I almost want to lick the screen.

IMG_0390

In the food processor:

  • Frozen Cherriessss
  • Splash of Almond Milk
  • 1 Frozen Banana

I wish I could make you a bowl, it’s heavenly, but since that’s not possible, you should definitely make some at your house!

I’ve been MIA because I forgot my card reader at Patrick’s house and just got it back… just in time for me to leave. For the next week and a half I’ll be road-tripping across the East Coast of Canada and then driving through Maine to Boston! I’ve been everywhere else in Canada but this will be my first time going east of Quebec and I’m very excited!

Along with eating lots of lobster and pretending to be Anne of Green Gables I want to ease back into running on this trip. My ankle is healing pretty well and I was able to run/walk 2.4miles in 27minutes (+ a 3 minute cool down) over the weekend. I was running 3:1’s for the first 22 minutes, until my ankle got sore, and then I walked a lot more.

While my ankle heals I have been doing a lot of swimming, weights and some biking (as much as my ankle allows). Over the weekend I also pulled out Jillian Michaels No More Trouble Zones. I was doing this DVD and Pilates regularly throughout the winter but had to stop in order to let my hip injury heal (I’m not usually this injury prone but it’s been quite the year!) and I’d like to build them back into my regular routine and this injury has provided the perfect opportunity.

This was my ankle shortly after the injury, it’s improved a lot since then.

IMG_0790

Bone bruises don’t typically cause a lot of swelling but there was some and of course it turned a lot of nasty colours.

IMG_0801

I can’t exercise on consecutive days, and it’s still sore, but I don’t flinch when my pant leg brushes against it anymore so we’re getting there!

I’m off to get some shut eye! Take care :)

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life is a bowl of Cherries!

  1. christina says:

    i have always thought that pitting cherries would be a pain in the butt, but duh, slicing them can’t be too bad!

  2. Love the new layout- looks great!

    And I LOOOVE cherries, I have been wanting to make a choco cherry bomb for SO long and I finally bought some cherries last weekend. So excited! I hate that we can’t buy frozen cherries here in Canada.

    Have a great weekend!

  3. Nienke says:

    UHM – That looks amazing! What am I doing reading your post just after midnight when I clearly cannot make my own Cherry Banana Soft serve?

    Enjoy your road trip – it sounds wonderful!

    PS. Thanks for the tip on freezing the cherries. Why didn’t I think of that :)

  4. Kirsten says:

    That looks delicious! I know what I’ll be making this weekend! Hope you have a great trip!

  5. Noelle says:

    Yum! That soft serve looks so good!!! I like your template change!Nice colors.

Leave a Reply

