Happy Summer! Happy Workout!

Happy first day of SUMMER!

In honour of the longest day of the year I was inspired to do a long (ish) workout. I hopped on the bike and banged out 18km in 40 minutes, not bad for stop and go city riding. Then I came home and hit the condo gym to shred it with free weights, 2 sets of 15 reps, 15 minutes. Rounding out the evening I hit the pool for a quick 800 metres in 20 minutes.

After a super long day at work this kind of workout was just what I needed. Changing activities let me clear my head and I feel so refreshed! Well, mostly refreshed… I injured my ankle at baseball a week and a half ago and I’m now the proud owner of a hairline fracture and bone bruise on my left ankle, which is a wee bit grumpy right now.

Moving along, it was 9pm by the time I hit the kitchen for one of my usual summer dinners. Salad sans lettuce, topped with spicy shrimp! Yummmmmo!

IMG_0434

How fabulous is it that it wasn’t pitch black at 9pm?!! I LOVE SUMMER!!

IMG_0435

I also love these beautiful, local, cukes and toms.

IMG_0436

Those lil things in the middle are the spicy shrimpies, coated with lotsss ‘o spices. Who needs dressing when you can just mix this goodness together?

IMG_0437

I think I hear some cherries calling my name… there are 8+ lbs in my fridge right now thanks to Whole Foods Cherry sale on Friday!

What’s your favourite fruit? I don’t think I can pick just one but cherries, strawberries, watermelon, nectarine and tangelo’s definitely top my list!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Summer! Happy Workout!

  1. christina says:

    good job on the long workout! i love blueberries, pineapple, and bananas! mmm

  2. Happy Summer!

    I have SO many favorite fruits, I don’t think I can choose either! Probably nectarines, cherries, grapefruit or pineapple! :D

  3. Kirsten says:

    Sounds like you had a great workout! Sorry to hear about your injury – hope you heal soon.

    Your dinner looked delicious. I’m much more a veggie person than a fruit person, so if I had to choose my favourite fruit I may go with tomatoes. Technically a fruit! :)

  4. Your blog is so cute girl! I love your layout.

    That dinner looks fantastic. You had me at veggies but shrimpies too? Say no more, I’m making this soon ^~

    My favorite fruit is grapes, specifically red glob. Yes, I’m one of those weird ones who doesn’t mind the pits! I find that they’re so much more satisfying to crunch into than the smaller ones.

    I’m so sorry that you hurt yourself :( injuries are no good.

Leave a Reply

