What to pack for 50km?

Here’s what I’m taking with me for my 50km charity ride.

IMG_0684 

Compressed air, spare tube, allen keys…

IMG_0685

Tire levers

IMG_0686

Portable bike pump.

IMG_0688

Tire patches & glue.

IMG_0687

I also finally installed a bike computer on Tuffy, my road bike…

IMG_0664

I got it all setup only to discover that it didn’t work. After 30 minutes of fiddling I figured that the sensor was defective! Ugh. I didn’t have time to deal with replacing the brand new computer so I took the one off of my mountain bike. Sorry Mountie!

IMG_0693

At least switching the working computer over only took 5 minutes and a few zip ties. 

IMG_0697 IMG_0696

All you need to do to install a bike computer is attach the sensor (the black thing on the right of the above photo) to the fork and then attach the magnet to a spoke. Keep in mind that the magnet should pass through the middle of the sensor and both pieces shouldn’t be more than 5mm apart.

You’ll know that it’s working when the computer (above left) shows a speed reading. This computer is wireless but it’s the same setup for a wired model except that you would twist the wire around the brake lines and secure it to the fork with more zip ties.

I will also be taking almonds, my Camelbak filled with water and an extra water bottle with water/cconut water.

Its supposed to rain, yikes! I’m already skeered of the hills, they don’t need to be wet too! I’ll let you know how it goes!!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

