Food.Fitness.Fun. in the city!

Well, it’s Saturday and I’m at home, in the city. WOOHOO! I never thought I would be so excited to stay in but after weeks of running back and forth to Ottawa and Montreal I’m so excited just to be home!

Last weekend my aunts and I emptied my Aunt Sanna’s home, our last task before we could reclaim our weekends and start to deal with her passing, instead of running from one task to another. 62 industrial sized bags, 32 boxes and 7 hours later we had the place empty. It was sad to see someone’s life and possessions literally boxed up and donated/trashed but when we finished it was also a relief, I’m ready for my life to return to normal. For the last few weeks I’ve been going to work and then heading right out of town to do more “work” I’m beyond drained.

Food.Fitness.Fun.

How did I spend my first weekend home? Well, Friday night I attended the Ballet’s Mixed Program (3 short ballets) featuring the world premier of Pur ti Miro, West Side Story Suite and Opus19/The Dreamer. This series of ballets will run until June 13th and this is the part where I encourage you to run, not walk, to buy tickets for a performance.

Pur ti MiroElo was magic. People audibly sighed at the end of the performance, it is that dreamy. Typically modern ballet doesn’t have elaborate sets and costume changes but beyond that you never know how the ballet will be structured, if at all. Pur ti Miro is my favourite type of modern ballet in that it is purely a blend of steps, music and emotion. The pas de deux performed to a live aria in the middle of the ballet? Forget about it, I was a puddle in my seat. What i love most is when a choreographer puts a new twist on classical steps which is exactly what Jorma Elo does. If you want to see some of the best dancers in the world pull off classical steps with a touch of popping and some badass lifts get yourself to the Four Seasons Center asap!

During the intermission I found out that my friend had given birth to her (almost 9 POUND) baby so I spent the entire time excitedly twittering, texting and calling people. I can’t wait to meet him soon! Also, my friend is a mom, weird!

I can’t move on from the ballet without mentioning how incredible the dancers were in West Side Story, a musical within a ballet. You very rarely hear the dancers make sounds or speak on stage but in West Side Story they have lines, sing and pull it off so well. Huge kudos! I’ve seen this ballet before and for some reason I enjoyed it much more this time around.

NEXT!

Food.Fitness.Fun.

I’m biking a 50km for Heart and Stroke tomorrow, naturally I’ve hardly biked in the last week! This is how my week went:

Monday – Baseball (18-6 for us!)

TuesdayBike ride Errands and hours of traffic. I was thrilled. Baseball (23-11 for us!)

Wednesday – No workout in favour of a GNO Dinner & SATC II… we accomplished dinner but thanks to a torrential downpour the power went out 30 minutes into the movie. We couldn’t believe it!!!

Thursday – Dodgeball! (9-6 for us!)

Friday – Bike ride, finally!! Just a quick city ride, 8km in 30minutes.

Saturday – 8km run/walk in 55 minutes. I forgot to take my inhaler so it was more like 4km run/walk and then a 4km walk back home. One day I’ll remember to take my inhaler and actually be able to breath and run without walking.

My goal for tomorrow’s 50km ride is 3 hours, hopefully that’s reasonable given the crowds and the hills. Actually, you know what, my real goal is to complete the ride in honour of my Aunty Sanna and Uncle George. I’m also proud that thanks to the support of my family and friends we surpassed my original fundraising goal of $100, instead we raised $400!! Thank you so much to everyone!!

Food.Fitness.Fun.

Gems from the Appletree Market

IMG_0162 IMG_0164

IMG_0172 IMG_0173

Salads inspired by my dinner at Aux Vivres and the eggplant/hummus combo.

IMG_0181 IMG_0183

IMG_0184 IMG_0185

The eggplant was marinated in garlic, ginger, pepper, evoo and then sauted for 5 minutes. Served over spinach natch.

IMG_0201 IMG_0203

Sberries. Teeny, local and delish!

IMG_0236 IMG_0242

Chunky AB, dates and bannaner soft serve? Yes, please!

IMG_0247

IMG_0199

IMG_0229 IMG_0231

IMG_0217 IMG_0220

That’s my week in a nutshell!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food.Fitness.Fun. in the city!

  1. Mel says:

    Ungh, the ballet sounds fab! I am a wee bit jealous, since my mom isn’t a big dance fan, she buys tickets to the symphony and opera, but not so much the ballet. I should look into student discounts here, the Joffrey’s home stage is actually in the building where I go to school, I think!

    Have an epic fantastic ride tomorrow!

  2. melaniehoyt says:

    Maybe I should try leaving you a comment while I’m logged in since we are WP buddies now!

Leave a Reply

