Vegan delight at Aux Vivres!

On Friday I hit the road for Montreal at 1pm which meant I made it to the city in time for dinner and some belated birthday celebrations! Montreal has an amazing food culture where you can find just about any type of cuisine, including an extensive amount of Vegetarian/Vegan restaurants so when the restaurant choice was left up to me I immediately knew I wanted to head, Aux Vivres!

Aux Vivres is a popular vegan restaurant/juicebar/takeout place that I knew my carnivorous friends would still enjoy. True to Montreal’s European roots the place was still bumpin’ when we arrived around 8:30pm, with many more people arriving after us. One thing you will notice immediately is the fantastic aroma from the food around you, it will leave your mouth watering for your order.

There were so many things I wanted to order but luckily my friends ordered some of the other dishes that caught my eye so I still got to try them.

Two friends ordered veggie bowls which are served on brown rice. I was tempted to order a bowl because the ones I saw around me looked great, but I’ve always been disappointed with bowls at Fresh in Toronto so I nixed the bowl idea. Well, it turns out Fresh has nothing on the bowls at Aux Vivres, I sampled both of my friends bowls and the flavours were great! I don’t know what it is about Fresh bowls but I just cannot stomach them, totally different story at Aux Vivres.

The other item I considered getting was the vegan chilli served with a dollop of guac. Oh Em Gee I wish I could have captured the amazing aroma and given you all a bite because this dish was out of this world. Next time I am totally ordering the chilli, hot day or not!

What I ended up ordering was the Sorocco wrap on a Chipati which is a homemade wrap/flatbread. My wrap contained roasted red pepper, hummus, olive tapenade, lettuce and eggplant.

IMG_0589

Hello lover.

As you can see the wrap contained A LOT of lettuce. At first glance it seems like you’re paying for a mound of lettuce and not much else but the wrap is actually really big and the filling evenly distributed. The eggplant was really good but the star of the wrap is the hummus and olive tapenade pairing. Whoever came up with that pairing is a genius, not to mention the flavour worked perfectly with the eggplant and roasted red pepper. Ungh. This wrap only had a few ingredients but it’s a perfect example of simple things done right! I’m actually craving another one right now.

The Verdict? Whether you are vegan, pescatarian, blue, purple, polka-dotted or an everythingarian you need to go to Aux Vivres the next time you’re in Montreal!

After dinner we headed out for some night time fun but only 1 birthday drink was had, since we had a big bike ride in the morning! Next up, our 100km ride!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

