Birthday Week Redux

Twenty seven has gotten off to an amazing start, thanks in large part to everyone who made my birthday so great. I can’t express how much I appreciated all the warm fuzzy messages and just spending time with great friends this weekend. They absolutely turned my frown upside down.

Friday was such a gorgeous day that I called my mom after work to see if she wanted to go for a walk. ‘A walk’ turned into my mom riding and my first run since my 5k in March and my hip/groin injury!! After enjoying the afternoon I went home to get ready to partay!

I put on a little pink dress (I found one!) and headed out for good food, good beverages and even better friends.

IMG_0503

We began the night at Hot House Cafe where I ordered my usual Frutti di Mare pizza. This amazing pizza features roasted red peppers, scallops and shrimp with pesto sauce on a thin crust. It is heavenly. The End.

IMG_0511

 

We talked our way through dinner and I also sipped on a glass of Chilean Chardonnay.

When it came time for dessert our rad waitress wouldn’t let us go without a piece of birthday dessert. I was all set to order the Caramel Crackle, a layered cake with cream, caramel and crunchy crackle layers, that we have been ordering since The Hot House opened. I’m sure it has a million calories but it’s out of this world and doesn’t taste heavy or too rich. It’s pretty much the perfect dessert for someone (me) who isn’t a huge fan of plain ‘ol chocolate cake.

Can you see where this is going?

Apparently they no longer carry the Caramel Crackle :(  Ironically we decided on a seven layer chocolate cake with fudge icing instead.

IMG_0514

 

Chocolate cake might not be my absolute favourite but this one was great! The cake was totally made by the fudge icing! Even with all five of us sharing we struggled to finish this monster piece, luckily one of my friends is pregnant and was able to help us clean the plate ;-)

Next Stop:Bier Market.

Bier Market carries over 100 beers from 24 countries, an impressive menu, for the foodie in all of us, and a knowledgeable staff. They also have a rocking dance floor and dj or live bands at night. It’s a great spot day or night.

We snagged a table on the patio and had to laugh when our first round of drink came out because they so obviously reflected each of us (aside from the tea which is obviously for my lovely pregnant friend).

IMG_0530

I had the UB Fruity which was a mixed beer drink of Blanche de Chambly Wheat Ale, Fruli Strawberry Wheat Ale and Peach Schnapps. It was pretty good!

And that’s where I’ll leave Friday night, there’s really nothing better than good friends.

On Saturday family friends came to town for a visit and all I had to do was be there because my mom did all the cooking. She was leaving for Europe the next day so she wanted to empty her fridge, works for me! Thanks mom!

IMG_0074 IMG_0075

Asparagus and potatoes with a drizzle of olive oil.

IMG_0082 IMG_0084

Salad (before it was tossed with the veggies, sorry!) and homemade oil, balsamic and oregano dressing.

IMG_0085  IMG_0089

Beets, feta and olives. Love it.

IMG_0080 IMG_0076

Lilac center pieces and berries for dessert feel like home.

Mom also cooked chicken that she marinated for 24 hours, it was so tender and delicious, I’m not sure why I don’t have a photo :(

Our guests came bearing gorgeous flowers and a chilled bottle of Canadian Riesling.

IMG_0096

I love getting flowers, they don’t just look gorgeous but my condo currently smells amazing!

After lunch I went for a walk with my mom and was geeked to wear my new shape jacket from Lululemon. I have been eyeing this jacket for ages because you can fold the cuffs over into little mitts and I freaked out when I got it for my birthday!

IMG_0532

That night I classed it up by finishing the last glass of wine with shells ‘n cheese and a few feta crumbles.

IMG_0110

Feta makes it beta!

IMG_0112

Sunday I drove my mom to the airport and we sat down for lunch before her flight.

IMG_0540

We split a chicken sandwich and chit-chatted while we watched planes taking off.

IMG_0537

What I really wanted to do was buy all of the city mugs I discovered at Starbucks. Instead I rearranged their display to take a photo.

IMG_0536

I had definite mug envy, I’m not sure how I left without buying any?!

Do you know what’s better than a City Mug? A brick workout!

The weather was absolutely gorgeous on Sunday so I raced home to change and hopped on my bike for an easy 10km ride (approximately) and then went for a quickie 3km run. The run could have been better, I forgot to take my asthma inhalers and my lungs were positively screaming at me, so it was more of a jog/walk.  Other than the inability to breathe my body felt fantastic and I would have done a full 5km if it weren’t for my breathing so I was still pumped to finish my first brick workout. Sprint Triathalon here I come!

This is my excited face:

IMG_0544

I have been spending a lot of time stretching lately and it looks like it’s paid off because my hip and groin area (psoas and iliac muscles) are tolerating normal activities again! I have been struggling with my hip and groin since January and I’m happy to (hopfeully) have that behind me. WOOHOO!

We wrapped up birthday weekend with a pizza from Pizzaolo.

IMG_0129

Pizza twice in one weekend is totally allowed on birthday weekends (what lactose intolerance?)

IMG_0131

Nom nom nom.

Monday night was also fantastic. We killed our opponents at baseball, 27-12 and my batting skills were freaking solid. I went 4-4 and even pulled out a double. I was a little smiley for the rest of the night.

IMG_0553

It feels good to smile again.

xo

C

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday Week Redux

  1. Dominique says:

    Happy belated birthday! I’ve been reading your blog since I discovered it via Angela (Oh She Glows) and her post about the TO meet up at Fressen–too bad I missed it :( I’m very sorry to hear about your aunt.

    Your weekend of food looks glorious! I’ll have to check out Bier Market someday. My friends keep going there but for some reason I always miss out. Oh and those city mugs from Starbucks–must get one now.

    I can’t wait to read more and I love your hair when it’s curly.

Leave a Reply

