Go shorty, it’s your birthday!

That’s right, today was my birthday and it was FABULOUS!!!

Goodbye Twenty-Six, you were a tough year because I lost two people close to me but I also made some great memories, including…

  • The girls and I planned for the 5th (?) annual birthday weekend to be in CHICAGO and surprised the heck out of Mel.
  • I went to Lake Placid for the first time!  I have always wanted to visit the two-time Olympic host city and it’s quiet beauty did not disappoint, bonus points for going with my favourite road-trip buddies!
  • I spent a month in Glorious Greece!
  • I experienced a life-long dream when I went to THE OLYMPICS in Vancouver!

I had some great times in the last year but I know that this year will be even better!

Twenty seven got off to a great start with early morning phone calls from my family here and in Greece. My yiayia (grandma) is ALWAYS the first one to wish me a happy birthday, I don’t know how she does it but she even beats my mom!

Next I picked up a free birthday bev from Starbucks. I had an iced soy vanilla latte, natch. (old photo)

IMG_0097

I arrived at work early with celebratory cookies for my coworkers and accidentally interrupted them decorating my office. I felt so bad about ruining the surprise but the decorations made me smile.

IMG_0454e

Sears portrait studio pose with the master decorator herself!

IMG_0455

IMG_0453

A group of us went to lunch at Boston Pizza to celebrate. I had the Chicken and Bacon Chipotle Salad which I adore, it’s definitely not a lite meal but it’s delicious!

IMG_0448

We split the Chocolate Explosion cake 5 ways for dessert.

IMG_0450

The cake was fantastic but very rich, we actually couldn’t finish it!

IMG_0452

After work I met up with my mom for our traditional birthday dinner. I had originally requested dinner at The Drake, but given the events of the last 2 weeks I decided I didn’t want to drive across town after work and opted for The Keg instead. 

Mom ordered Sweet and Sour Calamari for an appetizer.

IMG_0464

It didn’t sound like a good combination to me so I only ate one piece. Not to mention I didn’t have enough room for an appetizer and dinner after my hugh jass lunch!

Mom and I planned to split the ribs entree and asked for them to bring us an extra plate. The service at The Keg is always top notch so they brought us two nicely plated dishes instead of an extra plate. I really appreciate when restaurants are so accommodating.

IMG_0467

Can you believe this is only 1/2 of the regular portion?!!?! I ate the ribs, corn and 4 or 5 fries.

Apparently my mom told them it was my birthday when we made reservations so our server surprised me with an amazing dessert.

IMG_0472

The Billy Miner Pie is mocha ice cream with a chocolate crust with hot fudge, caramel and almonds. It is sooooo good that we both magically found room to enjoy this treat and my mom didn’t even try to stop me from eating dairy (yes, I’m 27 and my mom still reminds me that I can’t eat dairy, at least I got a pass for my birthday!).

I’m pretty stuffed after today but it’s just one day an I definitely enjoyed it. At the same time I’m looking forward to returning to normal tomorrow, I need a sugar detox!

Needless to say I didn’t have room for my birthday cupcakes but my mom wanted me to blow out candles on my birthday so we took them out and had some fun.

IMG_0043

IMG_0054

IMG_0057

IMG_0059

Apparently 72 is going to be great!

IMG_0063

…But first 27 is going to be EPIC!

IMG_0065

I gave my mom 1/2 of each cupcake and I’m saving mine for tomorrow.

IMG_0071

Today was just what I needed to lift my spirits and I can’t wait to continue celebrating with friends this weekend!

A big thanks to all my family and friends for your love today, I love you guys!!

xo

C

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Go shorty, it’s your birthday!

  1. christina says:

    all your desserts look incredible! i hope 27 is an awesome year for you! and 72 as well! :)

  2. Nienke says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! Your colleagues are so awesome decorating for you!

    And I must say, even though I am reading this post at breakfast – all of those cakes look delish.

    I hope 27 knocks your socks off :)

  3. The Cupcake Shoppe! Amazing! Glad you had a great birthday!

Leave a Reply

