What a ride!

Spin was rocktastic this week! Going into class my goal was to spend every. last. bit. of energy which happily coincided with the murderous challenging ride our instructor planned.

Our ride consisted of sets of the following:

Seated high cadence
Standing Jog
Standing Hill Climb
Seated Hill Climb

We started by doing each segment for 1.5 minutes, then 2 minutes each, then 2.5 and finally 3. By the end of the ride we were standing for 6 minutes and then we had to sit and keep pushing a huge gear. Perhaps this doesn’t sound hard but think about how you would usually tackle a hill, you would move from sitting to standing right. Now imagine your legs are burning and you’re using your body weight to help you push and then you have to sit down, but the hill keeps going.

It hurt but I did not want to lighten up on the tension. Our instructor would count down how many minutes we had left and I just kept repeating “you can do anything for 3 minutes…2 minutes…1 minutes…30 seconds”.

Surprisingly repeating the same sets 4 times wasn’t boring, I think we were too challenged to be bored. My muscles have never screamed at me like that during class but I had loaded so much tension that it felt like I was riding up the Rockies and it hurt so good. The tension was so challenging my legs felt the same as if I had been on a 3 hour ride.

After completing the sets we had a brief recovery period and then we did sprints for 10, 20 and 30 seconds each with recovery breaks in between. It was a great way to finish off!

I’m sure you can imagine we were dripping with sweat by the end of the ride so it’s a good thing I had my favorite Crops back from Lululemon! They did a great job fixing the hole, quickly and for free (!!!) and I was so glad I had them for this class.

These run crops are my favorite because they cover and support most of your leg but they are a super light fabric and have mesh behind the knees and at the waist to keep you cool, exactly what you need for spin. And for the record, I don’t work for Lulu but mesh behind the knees may or may not have changed my (sweaty) life ;-)

See, I’m so happy to have my crops back that I can still smile after such a brutal class.

IMG_0237 

I’m really glad we had such a challenging class because I’ve decided to take a couple of weeks off from spin. I love class and my groin injury is basically gone but I’m worried about re-injuring it if I increase my activity.

Taking a break is frustrating because I’m mostly healed and I’ve already given up most of my normal activities. Between Jan & Feb I stopped doing Jillian Michael’s DVDs, Running and Pilates and I’ve had to cancel the 10k I was going to run in May. I’ve also missed nearly a month of training for both of the baseball teams I play on.

For now I will be taking it easy and only doing light activity. Nothing that I’m doing now hurts but I also don’t feel my body can handle more, so I’m hoping a break will do the trick and I can start training for a crazy summer of races and activities soon!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

