Mediterranean Inspired Meals

Last summer I was here…

  img_5968

… eating this everyday…

img_5487 

… with fruits and veggies picked freshly 100 feet from our house.

img_7298

img_7115

 img_5793

Now that Toronto is finally warming up my cravings for these Mediterranean meals have inspired my recent eats. I started with goodies from The Greek Corner.

Octopus and ‘Giant Beans in Tomato Sauce’

IMG_9909 IMG_9910

IMG_9914

Of course you have to put some of the tomato sauce on the octopus.

IMG_9915

I obviously hated it.

IMG_9917

It’s not quite tomato and cucumber season here so on the side I had some cooked greens.

IMG_9925

In Greece they put EVOO and malt vinegar on the zucchini. I skipped the EVOO this time but really enjoyed the flavour from the vinegar.

IMG_9927

I was too full to eat the green beans but aren’t they pretty?

IMG_9929

After spin I put together this epic platter.

IMG_9938

It was amazing.

 IMG_9941

Very satisfying!

IMG_9946

I also made some tomato orzo “the Greek way”.

Orzo is a rice shaped pasta but when you do it the Greek way you start by adding the uncooked pasta to sautéed onions on medium heat.

 IMG_9919

After a minute add tomato sauce until it more than covers the pasta. You can add some water as well, if you like.

IMG_9922

I used spicy red pepper pasta sauce + some water because I didn’t have enough sauce.

IMG_9921

As soon as the sauce starts to bubble turn the heat down to low and cover the pot. Let the pasta simmer for 10-15 minutes until the pasta is soft, make sure the orzo is covered in sauce/water the whole time.

The end result is a very flavourful side.

IMG_9932

For lunch today I had the yummy orzo with green beans and Rainbow Trout. Deeeelish!

IMG_9937 

I love simple but satisfying meals, especially ones that remind me of vacationing in Glorious Greece. Do you have any foods or meals that remind you of trips?

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mediterranean Inspired Meals

  1. Mel says:

    Haha, well you know cooking and I don’t go together very often, but yesterday, I stopped at the French Market and grabbed a croissant from Vanille. I was expecting it to be pretty good, but I wasn’t expecting it to legit taste like I had transported myself to La France! Absolutely the best cro I have ever had this side of the pond!

    • starsinthecity says:

      Mel,

      I love that you just called it a cro! I bet P makes authentic ones.

      Also, I’m le jealous about French Market. I need to move to Chi-town asap.

  2. Kirsten says:

    I’m very partial to Turkish/Arabic inspired meals as they remind me of my time living in the region. I love all the salads and appetizers!!

    Your lunch today looked yummy – much better than the veggie burrito I had!

    • starsinthecity says:

      A lot of “Greek” dishes are actually the same or similar to Turkish and Arabic cuisine, I enjoy them as well! I didn’t know you lived there, that is really awesome!

  3. I love mediterranean dishes! They look great :)

Leave a Reply

