Pick a Number!

Last night was games night at spin! Our instructor taped seven numbered pieces of paper to the wall and had us pick numbers, one at a time, in any order.

Each time we picked a number an activity was revealed and we would do it for 30 seconds and then pick another number. Each new activity was added to the ones we were already doing until all of them were revealed and we did the whole chain in a row.

These were the activities:

1 – Seated High Cadence – aka pedal as fast as you can for 30 seconds
2 – Seated Hill Climb – crank on the tension and work that big gear
3 – Standing Hill Climb – turn up the tension more and give ‘er
4 – Standing High Cadence – stand and pedal fast (low tension), for some reason I am not good at this
5 – Jog – comfortable pace, medium tension, standing
6 – Hover – hover over the front of the bike
7 – Isolate – Keep pedaling while standing and not moving your upper body. This one is a KILLER on your legs

Once we killed all 7 we could start getting rid of them, one at a time. This activity made class FLY by. That’s what I love about spin, it’s never boring because you never have the same ride twice.

After the game we had 4 minutes to absolutely kill it. We could choose how much tension and whichever position (sitting/standing) that we wanted and then we had two tension increases.

You can do anything for 4 minutes right? Right! I kept adding tension until I finally had to stand and felt like I was sloughing through 10 feet of mud. And then I cranked it up some more. Those 4 minutes felt like an eternity but it was awesome at the same time. Each time the tension would go up my cadence would slow and then my legs would adjust and I would pick it back up again and push even harder. Because this was the end of class my only thought was to spend all of my energy and go as hard as possible, it rocked!

I wore my new lululemon zoom shorts to last nights class and loved them! They felt amazing and kept me super cool and dry throughout my sweaty spin session. They are going to be amazing for riding outside!

After spin I made one of my favorite things, Chickpea Patty’s! These things are the bomb and so easy to make!

IMG_9832

It was great to having veggies ready to go.

IMG_9830

I definitely piled more broccoli on after these photos but I didn’t think a you wanted to see a giant pile of broc!

IMG_9828

Dessert was Banana Softserve in my new Anthro bowl. I ♥ the Tiffany’s colour!

IMG_9850

Last nights ingredients were frozen nanner’s obvi, 1 scoop of chocolate amazing grass, lots of Chia seeds (a very technical measurement!), unsweetened almond milk, and 7 almond (5 ground up inside and 2 sprinkled on top).

IMG_9851

I love the crunch from the almond and chia seeds!

IMG_9852

My new bowl matches the Berry Chill spoons I brought back from Chicago!

Yeahhhh, I totally brought back plastic spoons from Chicago (twice now), but they are so fun because they turn colour when they get cold! It’s possible I’m 12 years old  and I’m ok with that ;-)

Don’t these spoons remind you of hyper-colour shirts?

IMG_9854

I hope you’re all having a great day! I remembered my lunch today so everything is good In The City!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pick a Number!

  1. Fae says:

    Those patties look GOOD!!!!! Will have to give them a try some time soon.

  2. So glad you are loving the Zoom Bike Short! Our designers were absolutely thrilled to introduce this short. Feedback like yours lets us know they are on the right track!

  3. Kirsten says:

    Sounds like a really fun spin class! Really appreciate when teachers make an effort to mix things up! Where do you go to spin?

  4. christina says:

    is that one of those crazy spoons that changes color with different temperatures? omg i hope it is! hahah

Leave a Reply

