This weeks ‘back on track challenge’ continued…

Today’s post is brought to you by the colour GREEN and the letter S.

When I thought about what I wanted to eat this week spinach was at the top of the list! I love these little leaves in everything from sandwiches to green monsters and definitely in salads.

Salads can totes be boring but they are also super easy to make interesting, not to mention they help you avoid wasting produce! Yipeeeee! ;-)

A to-go salad topped with a tsp of e.v. Olive Oil. A really good olive oil is a great investment, the good ones have an amazing flavour that will enhance your dish and (ironically?!) don’t taste oily. Natch I prefer the stuff from our olive trees in Greece (when I can get some) but otherwise I buy good Greek or Italian olive oil from the store.

IMG_9634

 

A good salad takes me a while to eat. Munch munch munch.

IMG_9637

Fruits make salads so much fun, don’t they? Berries aren’t in season but pears looked great this week so grilled pear it was!

I drizzled a little Agave on top to help them caramelize and cooked them for 3 minutes on one side and then 2 on the other. Why do grill marks make food taste better?

IMG_9649

I used the hot pan to heat up the left over asparagus and mushrooms. Sometimes a little heat can spice up a salad.

IMG_9654

A little balsamic on top made a great dressing.

IMG_9656

Funfetti isn’t just for cupcakes! I love adding nuts and seeds to make salads more interesting.

IMG_9657

Three cheers for gratuitous food photos!

IMG_9658

This salad was just as fun to eat as it was to photograph. Yumm!

IMG_9659

My favorite salad “dressing” is hummus and/or avocado. Doesn’t it look pretty? In about 2 seconds I totes destroyed the prettiness by mashing up the hummus and avocado but the tastiness went through the roof!

IMG_9660

This baby used up more of the leftover asparagus, mushrooms and brocolli, I left them cold this time.

IMG_9662

I had a little fun with the carrots, the curlicues were fun to eat. I can’t wait to have little kids and make their food into fun shapes, I’m a nerd!

IMG_9664

The only thing that’s missing – well two things – were the pumpkin seeds I added after I took photos and the olives I should have added :(

IMG_9665 

Happy hump day lovelies! I hope you’re all having some yummy eats today!!

xo
C

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This weeks ‘back on track challenge’ continued…

  1. Salads can be SO boring for me… so I love mixing them up! Grilled fruit is awesome, isn’t it?

    Your salads look delish!!

    xo
    K

    • starsinthecity says:

      Thanks Kristin! I definitely couldn’t stand eating plain salads all the time and I totally agree about grilled fruit, pineapple is my favorite!

Leave a Reply

