Do you like your body?

In the last couple of years I’ve come to like how my body looks a lot more. Truthfully,  that might not be say a whole lot but I’m more accepting of myself and my self-talk is a lot more positive. Even so, I still catch myself thinking ‘Oh, I don’t love how my body looks, I wish I could have so an so’s arms or so and so’s hair’ and then I realized, SO WHAT? My body is STRONG.

So, while it’s true that I find myself wishing my body would look different or be more like someone else’s great physique it’s not all bad.

I love my strong legs and they always blow me away when they are tearing up a spin class or trail ride.

My arms? Well I might not love tank tops, but I love how much iron they can pump.

Maybe my legs aren’t stick skinny but wearing running shorts sure feels great. 

And I have to say, my butt looks pretty nice in my Lululemon Wunder Unders.

Sure, I would love to have washboard abs but that doesn’t mean I can’t still rock a pilates class with the best of them.

Looking different won’t make me a better baseball, dodgeball or basketball player, my body rocks those sports just fine as it is. I certainly won’t be a better skier or skater if my hair were straighter or lighter.

I normally think  about my looks versus my strength at different times but today I finally jumped from one directly to the other.

Next time you see that athlete who is more ripped than you or that airbrushed magazine cover and you start thinking about how your own body looks, flip it, and think about your strengths instead.

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do you like your body?

  1. alex says:

    Awesome post- I think we are all way too tough on ourselves!!!!

    Loved this, girlie!

  2. Great, great post! I, too have had to learn to love my body, and I do now, because of how strong it is, not because it is perfect (it is not!)!

    xo
    K

  3. Jules says:

    This is a fab post, dude! I’ve been doing the same thing with ‘I wish…’ and thinking about what I didn’t like…now I can think about what I do! <3

Leave a Reply

