Cooking for One: Zucchini Pasta!

When you’re cooking for one it can be hard to eat a variety of veggies before they go bad without eating the same leftovers all week but it is possible! This week I’m all about using a few basic ingredients to make a couple of different dishes.

First up, we’ve got Zucchini pasta. I’ve made zucchini pasta before on its own as the “noodles” and as a way to bulk up pasta noodles. This time, to keep things simple, I decided to make them straight up on their own.

I don’t have a spiralizer, even though I would love one, so I made penne “noodles” instead of “spaghetti” by shredding 3 zukes in my food processor. 30 seconds later I had oodles of noodles which I promptly threw into a pot to cook for a couple of minutes with a drop of e.v. Olive Oil and splash of tomato sauce. Don’t have a food processor? You can also use a hand grater and I promise it won’t take much longer.

If you’re also making pasta just add the zukes to the pot when the pasta is 2 minutes away from being done.

I should back up a minute. Before I started cooking the zucchini I was busy sautéing some mushrooms and asparagus.

IMG_9620

In the last year I’ve become a big fan of pan-cooking asparagus, it’s so easy!  Start with a wee bit (very technical term!) of e.v. olive oil (or butter) in a pan and then add your asparagus and spices. This time I went with garlic powder, cayenne and pepper.

Sidenote: you can use non-stick cooking spray but if you’re making a vegetarian dish you need the fat from the oil or butter to help maximize nutrient absorption.

IMG_9626

Roll the asparagus around a few times and cook until they turn a deep green, about 5-7 minutes. Once those were done I cooked the mushrooms but I don’t have any photos, I guess they were shy.

While the asparagus was cooking I let the zukes cook for 3 minutes and then I drained them really well in a colander, make sure you press out all the liquid you can. Now you’re ready for sauce, you can either combine the zukes with pasta sauce in the pot or top them on your plate.

For visual appeal I topped my serving with sauce but I mixed the rest of the batch with the sauce to let my leftovers soak up flavour.

Can you see the mushrooms and sauce peaking out? I also added some brocolli that I had on hand.

IMG_9632

I ate this plus more asparagus and brocolli. So yum!

IMG_9633

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cooking for One: Zucchini Pasta!

  1. Pingback: Suggestions For School Fundraisers | Your Best Sleep Aid

  2. That looks great! I love asparagus in the springtime =D

    xo
    K

  3. Noelle says:

    This looks very delicious!!

  4. wow your plating looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

