Quick dinner idea: Garlic Veggie Couscous

If you’re like me, life is crazy but you still want to enjoy healthy home cooked meals. If you’re really like me then you eat out more the busier you get.

Hectic and crazy has been the story of my life for the last month, between The Olympics and Chicago and everything in between, I haven’t had/made a lot of time to cook… until last week when I had enough and jumped back on track.

Yummy meals don’t have to be expensive or time consuming, enter Garlic Veggie Couscous.

I steamed broccoli, these lovely green trees are loaded with Vit C, A, Beta Caroene, B vitamins, Folic Acid, Potassium and Fiber. 

IMG_9607

While the broccoli was cooking I lightly cooked some red peppers and zucchini in a pan. A touch of roasted sesame oil, garlic powder, cayenne and a few shakes of the pan and you’re good to go.

IMG_9609

You don’t want to cook the veggies to death, leave them on the stove long enough for the zukes to begin turning translucent and the peppers to start softening. You still want them to be a little crunchy, just not raw! Roughly 5 minutes.

While all this was going on the Garlic Couscous was cooking away. I had a box of the flavoured stuff in my pantry already but if you don’t just sauté a little garlic and olive oil in the pan before you add the veggies, and top with Oregano.

In 7 minutes everything was ready and I combined it all in the pot I used for the broccoli, leave the burner on low heat to help the flavours combine for a minute or two.

The finished product!

IMG_9611

It was so easy and tasted great!

IMG_9613

By the way, for perspective on the portion size, that’s a salad plate not a dinner plate.

I packaged up the left-overs for lunches, which I ate cold. The flavours were even better after sitting over night.

This dish works with whatever veggies you have on hand, don’t be afraid to mix it up!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick dinner idea: Garlic Veggie Couscous

  1. Kirsten says:

    Looks great! I love couscous. Couscous and all different types of veggies always work so well together.

  2. This looks delicious! The veg look so fresh, and I looove couscous!

    xo
    K

Leave a Reply

