I’m going to this Olympics this week!

I can hardly believe that I’m going to be at The Olympics THIS WEEK! In three short days to be exact. Wow, I have dreamed of being at the Olympics my entire life, hoped to go to these Olympics since the bid was announced and now I’m just days away. It doesn’t seem like this can be real.

I have tickets to a couple of events and I’m super excited. It will be an incredible opportunity to participate in the Games, the ultimate pinnacle of sport, from inside the venue.

One of the highlights will be seeing Tessa Virute and Scott Moir take Olympic ice in person.  They are a once in a lifetime ice dance team, that much has been evident from the start when they were as tall as the boards and half the size of their competitors.

I’ve watched them compete as little kids, seen them practice on the session before me during early mornings in Waterloo, watched as they won silver at the Jr. World Championships down the road in Kitchener and then celebrated their Jr. World Championship title the following year. Now they come into the Olympics at home with two world championship medals and it seems too good to be true that I will see them skate over the rings at center ice. It’s going to be incredible.

At the end of the day I’m just looking forward to be a part of the party in Vancouver, the buildings  covered in Canadian flags, people from all over the world, the Olympic flame (caged as it may be) and the glorious Olympic Rings everywhere. It would be amazing to celebrate in the streets, like they did last night for Alex Bilodeaus Gold Medal, but whatever transpires each moment will be magic.

But first we’ve got the Canadian Cowboys in the Mens Downhill this afternoon and the Pairs Long Program tonight , GO Jessica and Bryce!! I’ve also got to pack my suitcase but only halfway to leave room for all the stuff I’m going to bring back!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

