I’ve been in London (in case you were wondering)

I was in London (Ontario) a couple of weeks ago for Nationals (Olympic Trials). Nationals are always a fun week but they’re that much more exciting when you know a spot on the Olympic Team is on the line. This year they were also a little bittersweet because many of my friends and kids I grew up skating with may be retiring after the season is over.

Before I hit the road for London I packed some real food to take with me.

Pumpkin Pie Roasted Chickpeas

IMG_1952

Apples

IMG_1943

Unsalted, raw, mixed nuts & dried fruit

IMG_1931

Clif & Larabars

IMG_1934

Amazing Grass and Almond Milk. I pre-mixed them so I could grab and go, this worked out GREAT!!

IMG_1939

I also made some AB an touch of J sammies. Hardly using any jam avoided an soggy sandwiches, totes worked out!

IMG_1940

I ended up eating the sammies, most of the nuts/dried fruit, the amazing grass, 3/4 of a Clif Bar, 1/2 a Larabar and all of the Chickpea’s. Obvi I brought the leftovers home so nothing was wasted and it was nice to have options while on the road!

Of course that’s not all she wrote ate.

I enjoyed a falafel and my kind of salad (aka. Veggies, eaten over 2 days) from The Market across the street from the arena.

IMG_8687

IMG_8689

The Market has a number of different vendors from meats to produce and a variety of foods from cupcakes to sushi.

IMG_8704

IMG_8705 

I discovered a health food store within the market that carried a wide variety of LaraBars and left with a few.

IMG_8707

Midnight “Dinner” at The Hilton a trio of dips (roasted red pepper hummus, salsa, spinach) with hot pita chips.

IMG_8697

Times two (separate nights)

 IMG_8731

IMG_8732

Some pulled pork also happened…

IMG_8720

We also hit up Cora’s before we left town, Cora’s is an institution I introduced the girls to (in Montreal) a few years ago, it’s safe to say they are now obsessed.

I went all out and ordered a very decadent raspberry crepe, something I’ve always looked at but never ordered before… it was totes worth every sugary bite!

IMG_8774

There was also A LOT of Starbucks.

Some of it was iced (a vanilla latte and caramel macchiato)

IMG_8695

Some of it was MARBELED… we had an awesome barrista who introduced us to MARBELED peppermint mochas, OHH LA LA!

IMG_8703

annnnd some of it had a little liquid courage.

IMG_8713 

Nationals was a fierce competition and we were pretty pumped… can you tell?! (It was Red and White day but also what we’re going to look like every day at the Olympics!!)

IMG_8723

IMG_8725

Most of the Olympic Team selected was what I expected. Unfortunately the team I really really wanted to get a spot just missed making the team, it was a heartbreaker all around and it’s still a bummer.

Disappointments aside I really enjoyed photographing some of the competition…

IMG_2223

One of my favourite memories of the week was seeing these two beam as they rocked their short program.

IMG_2297 

IMG_2969

IMG_3598

IMG_4617

IMG_2422

IMG_2885

IMG_3088_edited-1

IMG_3086

IMG_3110

IMG_4667 

Tonight I’m off to Spinning, I think I’m addicted! Have a great one!!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

