Chicago and Detroit for dinner

Tonight’s dinner was hella easy but super tasty!

After another late night at the office and a chillay drive home soup sounded perfecto! Last week I whipped up a simple curried lentil soup so tonight all I did was add some extra veggies to the leftovers and voila!

A fun cup is KEY to the taste, my Chicago mug was a no-brainer!

IMG_1885

Love it!

IMG_1887

So cute!!

IMG_1888

On the side I had an organic gala apple with raw almond butter. So yumm!!

IMG_1895

I also had some hot chocolate in my Detroit mug.

No mug left behind!

IMG_1898

Secret Ingredients!

Eating for health is important but it’s not hard. In addition to eating mainly whole foods I try to get in as many super foods as I can! Hidden in tonight’s dinner were some sooooper super foods.

1) Turmeric has many benefits including anti-inflammatory properties and scientists also think it may be beneficial in preventing and slowing the progression of alzheimers and some cancers.

I add turmeric to most of my cooking, it doesn’t have a strong taste and it went really well in my lentil soup.

2) Cinnamon aids in insulin resistance, can help lower LDL (bad) cholesterol is anti-microbial, and aids in digestion.

I added some to my hot chocolate but it goes in just about anything, try adding some to your daily coffee!

3) Lentils… you can’t overlook these teeny bundles of goodness! Lentils are packed full of fibre, folate, vitamins, minerals, essential amino acids. What does that mean? Well you’re getting some essential nutrition, the high fibre and slow burning carbs mean they’ll keep you fuller longer and won’t spike your blood sugar. They can also help lower cholesterol, what’s not to like?!  Health magazine selected lentils as one of their 5 healthiest foods.

These babies are great in their own dishes, like lentil soup but you can also use them as a meat substitute in many dishes like Chilli, Tacos ad Casseroles. Try ‘em!

4) Almonds, they help with weight loss, lower cholesterol and prevent heart disease. Also, they’re YUM!

(There’s almond milk in my Hot Choc. in addition to the Raw Almond Butter with the apple-d-app).

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

