Better late than never!

Dinner was super late tonight so it needed to be quick.

I’m not a huge fan of frozen veggies (beyond peas and corn) but I have some stocked away in the freezer as a back up which came in handy tonight! (FYI – I don’t think anything is wrong with frozen veggies, I just prefer the taste of fresh)

I pulled out some frozen carrots, cauliflower and broccoli and defrosted them in the microwave.

IMG_1689

Then I threw them into the fire to cook. Just throw them in there nekkid, the moisture in the veggies is all you need.

IMG_1700

Once they had cooked up I added some spice, because that’s my middle name!

IMG_1703

and then a little bit of this baby

IMG_1687

IMG_1708

Mix it all up, you want that spicy goodness alllll over.

IMG_1709 

Congratulations, you’re done!

IMG_1714

I think this took me 7 minutes from start to finish, including washing the pan. You can do this with any veggies and any seasoning, whether it is spices, a drizzle of oil, soy sauce or maybe some honey/agave and root veggies.

If you’re using bottled sauce keep in mind that the fewer ingredients the better, look at the amount of sugar in each serving and remember that a little goes a long way.

Something I keep in mind when cooking veggies is that if I’m eating the veggies with meat I cook them in Pam or their own juices… if I’m eating the veggies on their own I might cook them with some oil (olive or canola) for some healthy fat.

On the side I had a special homemade treat from a family friend.

Spanakopita!

IMG_1716

Spanakopita is filo pastry stuffed with spinach and feta cheese. It’s one of my favourite treats and absolutely nothing compares to homemade. Many thanks Stella!

IMG_1717

I wanted to munch a little more so I had the (organic) apple left over from lunch with chia seeds and raw almond butter. So simple and tasty.

IMG_1723

I like slicing apples super thin, it makes for more yummy pieces to munch on.

IMG_1724

I’m going to be sad when the Olympics are over and my food no longer has Olympic logos.

IMG_1719

Oh yeah and I’m GOING TO THE OLYMPICS in just over a month! Holla!!

Over the weekend I finally picked up a new lens for my camera, one that I’ve been wanting since I bought my camera more than a year ago and it is AMAZING so I’m off to play with that some more! (All the photos in this post were taken with the new lens, aren’t they cute?! lol)

Have a good night all :)

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

