Christmas Dinner

Christmas got off to a tasty start and the day stayed like that until the end. (Click for part 1 and part 2 if you missed them!)

We enjoyed a delicious linner spread at my cousins house.

IMG_8373

 I’m not a huge fan of stuffing but my cousin makes a mean version. You can see that one of my cousins had already dug in, her plate is usually 1/2 stuffing.

IMG_8366

Sweet potato’s or Yams?

Potato, Potahto, it all tastes good to me! For the record I’m on team Sweet Potato!

IMG_8367

You know you’re in a Greek house when… IMG_8371

…when you have Pastitsio obvi!

IMG_8374

Pastitsio is a baked meat and pasta dish with a bechamel sauce. My aunt makes one of THE BEST Pastitsio’s ever, I wish I could legitimately eat it instead of occasionally sneaking a bite and feeling awful later (I didn’t have any this year).

We also had a huge bird that I could legitimately eat.

IMG_8369

I’m not a big fan of Turkey because it’s usually dry but my cousins make an incredible Turkey, it was so juicy and just plain tasty I really really enjoyed it.

They sent me home with leftovers which were also amazing, thanks guys!

This was my plate.

IMG_8370

Oh, you think I’m joking? Well, as much as I really love oven roasted potatoes I did  leave a few bites for the others… my real plate…

IMG_8380

plus some (blurry) asian salad that was also deelicious!

IMG_8381

I got quite the surprise when I found out one of my other cousins baked a cake for desert!

IMG_8383

I made her pose with the cake (and try it first to see if it was good!!)

 IMG_8382

The cake turned out to be really yummy, I really enjoyed the slice I had.

IMG_8384

Apparently I was so shocked about her new found domesticity that I forgot to photograph the rest of the desert spread… that and I didn’t have anything other than the cake.

The rest of the spread included some traditional greek cookies and fudge from my mom, Cheesecake and a  traditional Yule Log aka ice cream cake log thingy (that’s the technical term).

I guess it melted a little and then re-froze…

IMG_8389

I’m sure it had nothing to do with a shopping detour on the way home from the store.

IMG_8390

I hear it tasted great!

And that’s all she wrote for Christmas Day 2009!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

