Thankful.

There are a lot of things I’m thankful for, both big and small, but today a lot of coworkers and friends were laid-off so I’m feeling fortunate for my own job and very sad for them.

I’m also wishing it was Thanksgiving here! Us Canucks celebrated Thanksgiving in early October but if I can’t have thanksgiving I can re-cap it!

Thanksgiving was in La Belle Provence (Quebec) held the day after we hosted the 1 month memorial for my Great Uncle… a little rough but we managed to throw a great meal together!! Here’s a sampling of some of the yummyness…

Crudités anyone?

IMG_7971

Peppers, Kalamata Olives, Dolmades (stuffed grape leaves) and Tzatziki

IMG_7978

Carbs!

IMG_7980

Taramousalata – A traditional Greek spread that is my FAVORITE!

IMG_7979

I will eat it on anything…it’s sooo good!

IMG_7981

Fettttaaaaaaa!!! We’re Greek, it’s like mandatory.

IMG_7977

Sweet potato fries (not homemade obvi)

IMG_7975

Gobble Gobble! My aunt was in charge of the Turkey, we also had Lamb!

IMG_7974

Berryberry Cranberry Sauce – homemade is the best, you can’t have turkey without it and it’s so easy to make!

IMG_7972

My Plate… you can see some of the photo shy eats like the lamb, asparagus, roasted potatoes and sweet potato casserole (recipe coming up next!). Still no pictures is the acorn squash, I didn’t have room for even a bite!

IMG_7983

All in all it was a great Thanksgiving! We were able to put together a great, stress-free meal, mainly from scratch (minus the sweet potato fries) while hanging out together.

We all pitched in but we roughly put the meal together like this…

One of my aunts handled the meat.

I made the SP casserole, cranberry sauce, acorn squash and asparagus.

My uncle, little cousin and I peeled potato’s together and it was a joint effort doing the potato’s, SP fries, appetizer, cheese and bread platters.

And that’s what it’s all about – spending time with friends and/or the fam! If you’re celebrating Thanksgiving this week I hope it’s filled with family, good friends, yummy food and perfectly sized breadcubes ;-)

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

