I wear my sunglasses at night!

Friday I woke up with a hella sore throat, fever and runny nose. Not cool. I’m sure it had something to do with a friend who had the same cold and powering through my crazy Thursday.

Thursday was jam packed with an author lunch, a double book launch/cocktail party that was definitely a success and then a dress rehearsal for The National Ballet of Canada’s performance of Sleeping Beauty. Unfortch I had to make the executive decision to leave the ballet during the 2nd intermission. I was about to drop and since I’ve seen this ballet many times and will see it again next week I knew heading to bed was the best decision. That brings us back to Friday…

When I got up I made two shakers of Amazing Grass & Wheat Grass shaken with unsweetended almond milk and packed a third to take to work where I drank an insane amount of tea to try and rid myself of this cold. I felt well enough to make it through another crazy day and squeezed in a 30 minute nap before I headed out to a friends birthday dinner at THE DRAKE! I love The Drake, hehe it was actually my suggestion…

The food was delish as usual…

They started us off with yummy bread.

IMG_8184

I had the shrimp ‘po boy with fresh handcut fries. These fries are amazing and absolutely worth not substituting them for a salad or veggies.

IMG_8185

I went with our servers recommendation and had a New Zealand Chardonnay  with my meal. (un-pictured but I’m sure you’ve seen wine in a glass before. ;-)

For dessert we ordered 3 thins to share but I only have photos of 2…

#1. Pudding of the Day

Close your eyes and envision a large glass of chocolate pudding with a “lunch treat” (aka Biscotti) on the side.

#2. Sticky Toffee Pudding with caramel sauce and crème fraish (sorry for the awful photos, obvi this was the end of the night and it was really dark).

IMG_8190

#3. Roasted Marshmallows atop a Pumpkin Pie Tart with… some sort of ice cream, no idea because I can’t have dairy :(

IMG_8191

The marshmallows on top were my favorite part! Such a fun twist!

We may or may not have had a little fun with the camera…

IMG_8195

I wear my (friends) sunglasses at night!

After our long dinner a few of us headed back to my place where we happily arrived right after my first weekend house guest, on of my besties, Jules.

It’s a super nice Saturday and Jules and I are currently getting ready to head out… see some friends, do some shopping, eat some yum – it’s going to be great.

Unfortch I’m still not feeling well so I’ve continued my Cold FX, tea and amazing grass regime.

Ice Raspberry Amazing Grass Tea

I wanted to make some amazing grass without almond milk but still wanted some flavour instead of plain water. I channelled one of my favourite iced Starbucks  drinks and came up with this.

Ice
Raspberry Tea
1 scoop of Amazing Grass
1/4 ish Teaspoon local honey (you could use agave or omit altogether)
Squirt of lemon (optional)

I know it’s simple but it tasted sooooooo great!

Tomorrow is the finale of Battle of the Blades so Jules and I have to jet and finish our “costumes”… I can’t say much more but I’ll leave you with the last time I dressed up in support of one of the cast…. That time she knew we were going to have shirts and signs, this time they do not, mwahaha, nothing beats the element of surprise!

Bo3

bo

bo2

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

