Healthy.

Yesterday I got a little wordy in the comment section of Caitlin’s blog, Healthy Tipping Point, in her post about her first “diet”. The comment totally wasn’t what I planned to say when I started typing in the reply box but it must have needed to come out.

Here’s what I wrote:

Oh diets. I believe in eating whole, real foods, it’s how I was raised but then I began disordered eating because of body issues and in the end I gained weight!

I finally had enough two years ago, I had to stop counting calories and start loving who I was, overweight or not. I decided to try South Beach – like you I found some positives – but it wasn’t all good. About 6 months later I decided to do weight watchers, it was a way for me to eat all food groups and track what I was eating without counting calories.

It’s been a looong road but I stopped counting points/calories in the summer. I eat (mostly whole foods) intuitively and have continued to lose weight.

I even eat pasta or treats and do not freak out. I can eat those things in moderation, normally, I don’t need to binge in private or be overly strict. I can’t tell you how great it feels to maintain a normal relationship with food.
To be honest that’s been the biggest payoff, bigger than stepping on the scale this morning and realizing I’m down 52 pounds from when I started…

Eeek that turned out way long, sorry!

When I started this blog I was a biking machine who loved expiramenting in the kitchen and thought it would be a great idea to record all that fun stuff.

I didn’t intend to start a weightloss blog.

But. You knew there had to be a ‘but’ right… but I have been losing weight and it’s been quite the journey, one I’m not quite finished. Yesterday when I hopped on the scale I was down 52 pounds from when I started! That is unvelievable to me because as recently as last Spring I had doubts about if I could really do it. ‘It’ being have a healthy relationship with food, and as a side effect maintain my weightloss/keep losing.

I had been doing well up until that point, I had survived trips (including Vegas) and the holidays with no problem. I really did have a healthier relationship with food but it wasn’t perfect. I still got mad at the scale and I  didn’t appreciate how I had changed for the better, I wasn’t seeing the forest for the trees. Hello Christina, you survived VEGAS and CHRISTMAS without gaining weight or feeling deprived yet you were still coming down on myself for not being perfect. Durrrr.

Not anymore. This body is mine and it’s going to be the best it can be; it bikes for 3 hours at a time, it’s starting to run, it loves pilates, I’m funny, I LOVE FOOD, I have a lot of fun with my friends and family.

Nobody’s perfect and I’m done wasting my time obsessing about negatives! Cheers to that!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

