Spicy, indoors and out!

This weekend was fabulous wasn’t it?! I love warm weather and sunny days, it’s also nice to go out and see so many people enjoying the weather too.

Friday night I headed to the ROM to see their Vanity Fair exhibit.

IMG_8180

I was super excited because I adore Vanity Fair and often bought the magazine for the photos (and daydreamed about having my photos in the magazine).

The exhibit had a sampling of magazine covers from throughout the years as well as many iconic photos. It was all gorgeous and three hours just flew by!

IMG_8178

IMG_8177 

Am I the only one who thinks it’s neat to see a cover from 1918 lying below a cover of Barak Obama… so awesome!

After the ROM I popped outside to do some shoe shopping, I’m in the hunt for high grey boots but I’m very picky and can’t find exactly what I want. Le sigh.

Saturday was yummy between pumpkin oats and some pita pizza.

IMG_0254

I’m so obsessed with pizza it’s ridiculous. It’s one of the foods I can’t turn down.

IMG_0215

(photo from last week, I think the camera ate the photo of my pineapple, black olive and mushroom creation from this weekend :( )

Sunday I finally had some time to cook without rushing out somewhere, it was so glorious to open the windows and create something.

Groceries this week were pretty green…

IMG_0244

Broc, zucchini, cucumbers, bok choy, bean sprouts, green onion, blue corn chips, cherry tomatoes, high fiber pitta, butternut squash…

 IMG_0245IMG_0246

and some stirfry sauce, raw almond butter (on sale so I grabbed 2) and some canned olives and pineapple for pizzas.

I decided to create a stirfry with the greens I bought, something light and warm sounded perfect.

IMG_0278 IMG_0268 IMG_0270 IMG_0279IMG_0273

IMG_0282

Everything is better with shrimp so I pulled a few out of the freezer and cooked them up first.

IMG_0283

After they were done cooking I set them to the side and started cooking the broccoli since it would take the longest. I also added some garlic and part of the green onions.

Little by little I added the rest of the ingredients. Towards the end of cooking I also added some of the stirfry sauce and gralic chilli sauce from the asian market.

IMG_0286

I didn’t need to add oil (other than what was on the shrimp) or water because the veggies themselves had so much water, I actually had to drain the wok a few times to keep it sizzling.

I have to say I love how this turned out! It tasted fab and the heat from the chili sauce added the extra kick it needed.

IMG_0288

Making this in a Wok kept everything crispy and meant I didn’t need very much oil or sauces to cook the veggies. I need to pull out the wok more often!

I also enjoyed it with some roasted butternut squash on top, yumm!

IMG_0294

IMG_0292

 IMG_0296

The rest of Sunday included a long walk outside with a side of window shopping and of course Battle of the Blades at Maple Leaf Gardens… a totally sensational Sunday!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

