I’m back!

I’m back from my fabulous trip to Greece! My trip didn’t go exactly as planned but it was an absolutely wonderful time and I came back so relaxed that people were constantly coming up to me and telling me I looked great. I also managed to lose around 10 pounds while I was gone, woohoo! I am planning to do a photo re-cap and food highlight soon!!

I actually came back two weeks ago but life has been c.r.a.z.y. I flew in and was back to work the next day and I haven’t stopped since. Sadly my uncle passed away the day after I came back due to complications from a stroke, it was a very sad time and I spent the weekend out of town with my family at the funeral. The next weekend (this past weekend) I went to visit one of my Besties in Michigan (which means I stocked up on lots of bars you can’t find in Canada) and celebrated Oktoberfest in Frankenmuth and that brings my crazy whirlwind to today…

I have yet to be home for a weekend so week nights have been very full, doing everything I didn’t have time for on the weekends. As a result I haven’t been on a bike or done a run in 5 weeks, YIKES! but I planned and completed a run today. I picked up the Couch to 5k program right where I left off (week 3) and I even did it directly when I got home. This is BIG for me because I’m usually hungry and need to eat before I do anything else. I ate 1/2 a Zbar on my drive home and headed to the gym in my building. The last 2 running intervals were a little tough and I kept going trough a cramp but I made it to the end, it was GREAT!

I wasn’t sure how the run would go because I hadn’t run in so long but I learned an important lesson.  In Greece I was swimming 2-4 hours per day and walking each night, I wasn’t doing it to lose weight and I wasn’t setting a time goal for being active but the point is that I was active (and I did lose 10 pounds). Because I didn’t view it as exercise or training I didn’t give myself much credit for that activity. Well, tonights run was at least as easy as before my trip, yet another reminder to appreciate my body and everything it can do! I might not have biked for hours or run x times per week but I stayed active and it counts; remember that next time you refer to yourself negatively, like when you only go for a walk or only run 20 minutes. Take pride in everything that you’re doing and rock it!

No photos in this post, I need some time to get organized on that front, but I wanted to document my run. Peace OUT!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

