Monster breakfast!

Last night I made another blogger inspired dinner. I knew I wanted to make something with beans or lentils and remember seeing a recipe for Red Lentil Casserole on Caitlin’s Healthy Tipping Point blog that I wanted to try. I like that it had lentils and kidney beans as the main ingredients because those are two of my favorites.

Of course I snacked on some red kidney beans while I made dinner. I could probably eat half the can raw!

IMG_5037I used canned kidney beans but dried lentils. I’m moving towards using dried beans but I don’t have any dried kidney beans yet, I’m tryin to use my canned stash first. Lentils are super easy to use dry, I used the green ones I had on hand and they only required 20 minutes of cooking before they were ready to use. Super easy!

I used 1/2 cup of parmesean rice cheese because I can’t have dairy. I only used 1/2 a cup because I was a little short on lentils and that stuff is expensive, turns out I didn’t need anymore so that was good!

IMG_5038I’m missing a photo of the finished product, I think my camera ate it because it was so tasty. I might have leftovers for lunch so I’ll snap another photo then and add it here.

The casserole turned out well, the pamesan gave the dish a fabulous flavour!

The best part of last night was one of my best friends, Jules, getting into town! She’s here because we have some crazy plans for the weekend, starting tonight with an annual skating gala and reception. This show will be a little different for me because I’ll be working, shooting photos for ice-dance.com.  We’ll head up there after work, meet up with a few friends who are already there and have some fun!

After work on Friday J and I are headed to Lake Placid, I am in love with LP, not only is it gorgeous but it has quite the Olympic tradition. I can’t wait to get a photo posing in the bobsled (it’s tradition). In Placid we’ll meet up with Mel, another member of our core group of roadtrippers, who is already  there with the rest of the Ice Dance.com crew shooting photos of the annual International Ice Dance competition. We’re then pulling double duty and heading up to Montreal for a little partying and to catch the last day of the Quebec Skating Competition on Sunday. Whew! It’s going to be busy and totally amazing!

I’m going to brinng some of my LARABAR stash on the trip.

IMG_5073

I will also be bringing some Ruths Chia Goodness from Mondays post and Amazing Grass Powder.

Jules brought some Greek flavoured Presidents Choice chips and mini fruit bars!

IMG_5075IMG_5076

I was going to skip my usual Green Monster breakfast because Jules was still sleeping and I didn’t want to wake her up but she got up while I was in the kitchen. I already had the Chia seeds gelling but I wanted the energy from a green monster so I made that and some Oatmeal for Jules.

IMG_5078This was a great breakfast, it was super filling. Eating both things together was too much so I couldn’t finish the Chia seeds, because they are so dense I think I’ll only make 1 TBSP at a time in the future.

Jules is game for trying out some of my Chickpea “meatballs” or my lentil casserole later so we’ll see how she likes them, I hope they’re not too spicy for her!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monster breakfast!

  1. I suddenly feel very hungry.

Leave a Reply

