I DID IT!!!

I completed my first official run today! I’ve always been an athlete, but with weak ankles and bad knees I’ve never been a runner until I got caught in a monsoon-like rain a couple of months ago and ran quite a few city blocks trying to get home. Running with the wind in my face was such a high, it reminded me of the high I get from skating.

I already swim and bike a fair bit so I’ve been itching to do some races. I’ve found SwimCycle races that I’m going to do next year but after seeing how short the run portion of mini-tri races are I figured I could handle that distance which led to getting serious about some running work.

I had one failed attempt at treadmill running last summer but I tried to push it too hard too fast and my asthma and shin splints put the kaibosh on that. This timeI’ve decided going to follow the C25K (couch to 5 k) program and last night I downloaded a week 1 mix for my ipod. Tonight I hit the treadmill and completed workout 1 of week 1! I am so proud of myself!!

I’m not just proud that I finished tonight’s workout, more than that  I’m proud that my drive beat my negative self-talk.

I went to the gym and got on that treadmill eventhough  I wondered if it would be embarassing not running the whole time I was on the treadmill, or if my asthma acted up or how my knees/shins would do. You know what? Each time the running section ended and I could switch to walking for a minute I was surprised. It wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought! And when it was over and I could start to cool down? I couldn’t believe I was already done, how did that happen so quickly and “easily”? I was drenched in sweat afterwards and it felt great,  so take that negative self-talk!

About Christina @ Stars in the City

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I DID IT!!!

  1. Hangry Pants says:

    Awesome! I have asthmas too, ya know – it makes running that much more awesome for us.

Leave a Reply

