Thai Quinoa Salad–tastes like sunshine.

Hey peeps! I hope you are all enjoying so sunny weather wherever you are. This is my favourite time of year, it’s warm but not humid and the trees and flowers are just gorgeous.

If you follow me on instagram you’ll notice my account has become naturgram because when I’m not at work or sleeping I’m outside and inevitably taking 20395843567029348 photos of some flowery sh*t which I post incessantly. Don’t worry, all my follower love it so hard.

Anyway, the real reason I’m posting (from a patio while I recharge my solar panels) is to share some noms. After all that’s why I have this blog that mentions nothing about food directly in the title, just in every post. Right, then.

As I mentioned, it’s warm and you (I ) don’t want to be slaving over a hot stove/oven all day and salads actually sound good because they taste like sunshine instead of mushy veggies trucked in from whoknowswhere. Fresh spring rolls have also been at the top of my recent noms list only, it’s weird, but they don’t seem to make themselves. So, instead of rolling out the rice paper I give you this Thai-inspired quinoa salad. And I can put Thai in the title because it uses Thai basil okay!

IMG_1652

Thai Quinoa Salad

1/2 cup dry quinoa
1 cup water
1/2 – 1 cup carrots, chopped
1 cup cucumber, chopped
3 TBSP Soy Sauce (divided in half)
3 TBSP Mirin (divided in half)
3-4 TBSP chopped Thai basil (This is not your mama’s basil and we’re not making pasta sauce, try an asian supermarket – you won’t be sorry)
4 TBSP Hoisin Sauce
12 oz Shrimp

Marinate shrimp in 1.5 TBSP soy sauce and 1.5 TBSP mirin before sautéing, then set aside to cool.

Cook quinoa in 1 cup water, 1.5 TBSP soy sauce, 1.5 TBSP mirin and let cool.

Combine shrimp, quinoa, cucumber and carrots, Thai basil and hoisin sauce. If you’re not serving this immediately (it will keep in the fridge for a little while) then do not add the Thai basil and Hoisin sauce until just before serving.

Enjoy kiddos!

About Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun.

I like sun, sand, surf, tunes and vegan mac ‘n cheese with bacon. Oh, and sarcasm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thai Quinoa Salad–tastes like sunshine.

  1. Mel says:

    This does sound tasty, but I am intimidated by recipes with multiple ingredients I’ve never heard of! Off to google…

Leave a Reply

